Back to Work 2017


Hey, blog world! Today was an awesome day! I got to go back to work!!!! For those of you who don’t know, I am a seasonal jack of all trades at Spirit of Newfoundland. By that I mean I work there during the summer and do pretty much everything! It’s the best job in the world and I miss it and my co-workers very much during the school year.

Last night I couldn’t sleep at all because I was so excited! I wanted the sun to hurry up and rise so I could wake up and start getting ready for work! When it eventually did, I was thrilled! As 12:30 (my start time) grew closer and closer I got more and more excited! In the car on the way to work, I nearly burst I was so giddy! Even more so when I arrived at the Masonic Temple! The smile on my face was about a mile wide!

I entered the building and went to the bar to sit for a while until my shift started (I arrived a half hour early.) There I met Julia, one of the newest members of the Spirit family. I introduced myself to her and we talked for a bit while I waited for my shift to start. She’s a lovely person. I look forward to working with her this summer!

Some familiar faces were in the bar as well! It was so nice to see Colleen, Kara, Peter and Paul again! They are such kind, compassionate, funny, all around wonderful people.

At 12:30 my shift began. I started by folding napkins and putting them in the mugs, one of my favorite tasks to do at work. Once that was done, I moved on to polishing the silverware, then I refilled all the sugar dishes and replaced all the tealight candles. As you can see, I had a busy afternoon! I’m always flat out when I work at Spirit and I absolutely love it!

After a short juice box break, I did some administrative things in the boardroom for Paul, then I headed upstairs to offer a helping hand to whoever was setting up the dining room. Today it was Liam! He’s a great guy and a pleasure to work with, heck, everyone at Spirit is! I couldn’t ask for any better co-workers or bosses!

Liam and I went around the dining room setting each table. It’s been a long time since I last did that, but I remembered where mostly everything went! The things I forgot, Liam helped me with. Yay teamwork!

Before I knew it, it was 4:30. My shift was over for the day. Time flies when you’re having fun! I had such a wonderful first day and can’t wait to come back on Thursday and then again next Tuesday and every workday after that!

Leah

Leave a Reply

