Alone In The Universe, My Interpretation


In response to this weeks Discover Challenge

Hey blog world! My first audition was for Etcetera Production’s production of “Seussical The Musical”, a musical about Dr. Seuss characters, focusing mainly on “Horton Hears A Who” but there are elements from several other stories thrown in here and there (Cat in the Hat narrates, there’s reference to Truffula Trees (the Lorax), Solla Solew etc). I didn’t get a part but went to see the show. I fell in love with “Alone In The Universe”, a duet by Horton and Jojo. It was a beautiful song. Years later I listened to the words a bit more carefully and discovered a new meaning to the song, one that really tugs at my heartstrings. To me, this song reflects the thoughts and feelings of a person with Autism. Have a look at the lyrics.

I’ve been guarding this clover
For over a week, getting laughed at
For thinking a dust speck can speak

Well, let them all laugh
I’ll try not to mind
For I have found something
That they’ll never find

There are secrets on a leaf
In the water, in the air
Hidden planets, tiny worlds, all invisible

Not a person seems to know
Not a person seems to care
There is no one who believes a thing I say

Well, I’m fairly certain
At one time or other
Great thinkers all feel this way

I’m alone in the universe
So alone in the universe
I’ve found magic but they don’t see it

They all call me a lunatic
Okay, call me a lunatic
If I stand on my own, so be it

‘Cause I have wings
Yes, I can fly around the moon
And far beyond the sky
And one day soon I know there you’ll be

One small voice in the universe
One true friend in the universe
Who believes in me

I’m alone in the universe
So alone in the universe
My own planets and stars are glowing
Alone in the universe

No one notices anything
Not one person is listening
They don’t have any way of knowing

Nobody knows that
I have wings, I have wings
And I can fly, I can fly
Around the moon and far beyond the sky

Well, someday soon you will hear my plea
One small voice in the universe
One true friend in the universe
Please believe in me

Hello, hello?
Hello?
Who’s there?
It’s me, Jojo, the Mayor’s son
I’m Horton, the Elephant

Are you real or are you a very large think?
Oh, I’m real, alright, I would state that in ink
In my thinks, I imagine a lot of strange things
And I go to strange places, as if I had wings
I love a good think

Well, for me that goes double
Sometimes my thinks are what get me in trouble
When you think, do you dream?
In bright colors

Me too and I go to strange places
Like Solla Sollew
When you think, do you think you can fly to the stars?
Ah, little friend, no one else could have thinks such as ours

Yes, I have wings, I have wings
And I can fly, I can fly
Around the moon
And far beyond the sky

You called my name and you set me free
One small voice in the universe
One true friend in the universe
Who believes in me

Like Horton, we feel like we are alone in the universe. It’s a strange place full of strange people and things we don’t understand and who don’t understand us. Individuals with Autism have found magic that neurotypicals don’t see. We have a different perception of the world around us. We get called lunatics and a myriad of other awful names just because we’re different! We stand on our own a lot of the time. We are capable of many amazing things if people would just bother to notice! “I have wings and I can fly around the moon and far beyond the sky!” Also like Horton, the one thing that we want in the universe is one true friend who believes in us. Is that too much to ask? I don’t think so.

“My own planets and stars are glowing”, another allusion to being in a world of our own. “No one notices anything, not one person is listening”, like Jojo, we are upset that no one pays attention to or listens to us! We have things to show you and things to say! You’ll be amazed if you take the time to pay attention!

The way they think, in bright colors, is the way that some people with Autism think as well. Some of us think in pictures! Instead of just thinking about something we picture it in our minds. Also, our thinks can get us into a bit of trouble sometimes too. We’re very honest and sometimes don’t keep our thinks to ourselves. We say what we think without thinking about the consequences that it could bring. Also, like Horton and Jojo think of flying to the stars we have big dreams too! With hard work, I know we can accomplish them!

When we find that one true friend in the universe who believes in us and accepts us for who we are, our lives are changed for the better and with their help, we open up and flourish! As Horton says “You called my name and you set me free!” For me, that person is Peter Halley. He has made such a huge impact on my life! He’s such a kind, compassionate person. Whenever I need a hug, some advice, cheering up or just to talk, he’s always there.

It’s my hope that someday soon, no Autistic person will feel like they are alone in the universe. Get to know us and you’ll see just how amazing we really are! Better yet, become our friend! You’ll be very glad you did.

Leah

 

Leave a Reply

