Rudolph


Hey, blog world! Christmas is getting close! Christmas movies are on TV, and radio stations are starting to play Christmas songs! My favorite Christmas song is “Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer”. Rudolph is looked at as a cutesy song for kids, but to me, Rudolph is a kindred spirit who’s story has a much deeper meaning. Let me break down the song and explain.

Rudolph the red nosed reindeer had a very shiny nose, and if you ever saw it you would even say it glows.

Rudolph and I were both made extra special. He of course has his beautiful, shiny, red nose and I have Aspergers Syndrome (a form of Autism) and Agenesis of the Corpus Callosum, which is a fancy, scientific way of saying I’m missing a piece of my brain. The Corpus Callosum is a wide band of fibres that connects the left and right sides of the brain and transmits motor information between the two sides.

All of the other reindeer used to laugh and call him names. They never let poor Rudolph join in any reindeer games

I know all too well how poor Rudolph felt because I too have been bullied because of my differences. I’ve been laughed at, excluded from things, and physically and verbally bullied, by not only my peers, but a few adults too, all because of my Aspergers and ACC!

Then one foggy Christmas Eve, Santa came to say “Rudolph with your nose so bright, won’t you guide my sleigh tonight?” Then how the reindeer loved him, as they shouted out with glee “Rudolph the red nosed reindeer, you’ll go down in history!”

This part always makes me emotional. I cry tears of happiness and get a fuzzy feeling in my heart. Everyone finally sees Rudolph for the unique person he is, embraces his difference and accepts him! It gives me hope. Hope that someday, every individual who was made a little extra special will be accepted, loved and celebrated by the world. I hope that day comes very soon!

If fictional reindeer can learn to accept their peer who is a little bit different, why can’t the rest of the world! Please, take a lesson from Rudolph’s story. People (and reindeer) who are a little bit different, are really the exact same as you on the inside! They have hopes, dreams and feelings and deserve to be treated with respect and acceptance.

Leah

 

3 thoughts on “Rudolph

  1. Pingback: Spirit Christmas Luncheon 2016 | Aspie Diaries

  2. Pingback: Christmas 2016 | Aspie Diaries

  3. Pingback: Best Spirit Moments: On Stage | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

