Back To Basics Day 2


Hey blog world! Be sure to keep your eye out for the blue moon tonight because the sun is splitting the rocks in Newfoundland today! For those of you who aren’t from here, that’s our way of saying it’s scorching hot outside! We don’t get many days like this so I’m very, very happy that today is one of those rarities! I decided to beat the heat with a few little treats from the dessert section of Back To Basics. I decided to make some peanut butter brownies to share with my family and to cool down on this absolutely beautiful, super hot day, I made a toasted marshmallow milkshake.

These were both mother-daughter projects. I’m capable of cooking a lot of things on my own, but there were a few steps in the recipes I asked for mom’s help with. One of which was double boiling the chocolate and butter for the brownies. First of all, I had to ask mom what a double boiler was and if we had one because I had no sweet clue what it was!! I’ve been cooking for a number of years in various kitchens but yet have never heard of a double boiler! When I found out that we didn’t have one and learned what she does instead (boils a pot of water, fills another pot with the chocolate and holds it over the boiling pot of water until it’s cooked) I said “I don’t feel safe trying that on my own. Let’s make the brownies together. You’re in charge of the double boiling!”

My part of the recipe was whisking together the ingredients for the brownie and the peanut butter mixture. Chef Michael has written down “In a small bowl, whisk together the peanut butter, nutmeg, butter, icing sugar and vanilla until smooth. Sneak a taste if you like.” I’m never one to skip steps in a recipe so I did! It was really nice. I liked the flavor combination of the peanut butter and nutmeg.

Mom double boiled the chocolate and butter for me. I really appreciated her help. Once that was done, we added in the rest of the ingredients and then put it in a pan and combined it with the peanut butter mixture. Next came my favorite part. I dragged a spoon handle through it creating a swirly effect. It was lots of fun and it looked like a work of art!

This is how they look in the book

Book Brownies

This is how my batch turned outMy Brownies

I like how abstract mine looks. It’s really pretty!

No complaints at all about how this was written. Each step was easy to understand.

Mom had the first brownie and I asked her how it tasted. She had no words. She just mumbled in a tone that I assumed meant so-so. I guess she’s not a big fan. Honestly, I’m not either. The peanut butter sauce was nice on its own, but it doesn’t go well with the brownie. Also, I found the brownie was a bit sour, I guess that was the bittersweet chocolate. I won’t be baking with that again! I was disappointed. I was hoping for a yummy treat and it’s not what I got.

I’m giving it a 3.5 out of 10. As I said, the recipe is well written and easy to understand, but it loses several points taste-wise. This recipe won’t be photocopied to use again.

Next, I set to work on the milkshake. The service size is 4-6 (if you feel like sharing). I’m only one person! I won’t be able to drink all of that, and I also don’t think that all the ingredients to make enough milkshake for 4-6 (if you feel like sharing) will fit into my Magic Bullet! So, mom helped me half everything so that it makes enough for two, one for me and one for her. She also cut up all the marshmallows for me! The recipe called for a bag of mini marshmallows, we only had a bag of big ones. She counted out half the bag and cut each marshmallow into tiny pieces.

However, we both agreed that this is a recipe we will not be making again. It’s too much of a hassle! It’s a toasted marshmallow milkshake so obviously we had to broil marshmallows. Mom scooped the broiled marshmallows from the tray and into the Magic Bullet and it was extremely difficult because they stuck to the spoon she was using! It was too much hard work for her and she didn’t want to do it again. I agreed that all that wasn’t worth it.

This is how it looks in the book

Book Shake

This is how mine turned outMy Shake

Mom and I had differing opinions about the taste. I thought it was nice, like a liquefied campfire. If it wasn’t so difficult I’d make it again. Mom said “Eh, I thought it was disgusting actually. Very sickly. I won’t make it again.” The toasted marshmallow milkshake is a one shot deal. 2 out of 10. This recipe also won’t be photocopied to use again.

Today was a flop, but that’s ok! I got to try new things and spend the afternoon in the kitchen with mom!  Come back tomorrow night as it’s my day off and I’m in charge of supper! I will be trying out Chef Michael’s recipe for spaghetti with homemade tomato sauce!

Leah

2 thoughts on “Back To Basics Day 2

  1. Pingback: Our Letters Define Us – Handwriting Tag – Awkward Babble

  2. Pingback: 16 Summer Memories | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

