Marconi’s


Hey blog world! I had a scrumptious lunch today! My mom and I went to Marconi’s, a new café owned by Spirit of Newfoundland that is located inside the Johnson Geo Center.

The café was small and very quaint. I liked the umbrellas above each table. I thought it was cute. I also liked how they went kind of old school with a chalkboard menu. You don’t see those very often anymore.

The service was great! I didn’t catch our server’s name but he was very friendly, expertly answered the questions I had about the menu and otherwise, made reccommendations and made sure we enjoyed ourselves. I wish I had caught his name so I could acknowledge him. He knows who he is and if he reads this, great job today! Keep it up!

One thing I love about this restaurant is that everything is made with fresh ingredients in house. They don’t buy anything pre-made or pre-packaged (except the proscuitto because they don’t have 6 months to cure pork) and they grow their own basil on the windowsill! I think it’s awesome that they do  all this because you know what you’re eating! At fast food restaurants, though you know you are eating nuggets, the food is  made in a factory and is laden with by-products and goodness knows what else! Monsieur Thénardier could be putting kidney of a horse and/or liver of a cat into the nuggets for all you know! In reality, you really don’t know what went inside those nuggets and what’s about to go inside you! At Marconi’s, because everything is made with fresh ingredients in house, you know you are getting fresh, healthier and better tasting food! I think a lot more restaurants should start following suit.

For my main course, I had the chicken caesar panini with a side caesar salad.PaniniI took one bite and the first thing that came to my mind was “Holy firetruck! This is absolutely amazing!” The cheese was melted perfectly, the bread was toasted just right, The chicken was so moist and tender, everything about this panini was perfect! It was delectable! One of the best panini’s I’ve ever eaten! The salad was very nice too. The proscuitto in the salad had the perfect amount of salt; not too much, not too little, the lettuce was crisp, the dressing was nice and light and very flavorful and the croutons were perfect. 10 out of 10!

I just had a piece of their raspberry cheesecake (I was in a hurry and had to get it to go) and sadly, it wasn’t quite up to my expectations. The cheesecake itself was heavenly! So creamy and fluffy and absolutely delicious! However…  when I bit into the raspberry topping, there wasn’t really much of a raspberry taste. I  like being able to taste the fruit in a fruity cheesecake and in this piece, it felt like it wasn’t there. I was dissappointed. It gets some large presentation points though because of how pretty it looks.Cheesecake

I’m giving it a 6.5 out of 10. Even so, I am eager to try their other two cheesecake varieties, caramel and chocolate. I’m hoping those will be up to my expectations.

Another small criticism I have is that they don’t take debit. I haven’t got a credit card and it’s not often I have paper bills on me so I’m hoping that they will soon make the necessary accomondations and start accepting debit cards.

All in all, Marconi’s was a wonderful dining experience. I’m job shadowing on Signal Hill in two weeks time with my worktopia group and have already planned to have another lunch date with mom at Marconi’s afterwards! It gets 4.5 out of 5 stars! I highly reccommend going! For more information, e-mail reservations@spiritofnewfoundland.com or call 579-3023

Leah

 

*Update: Since this has been posted, Marconi’s has added a debit machine!

2 thoughts on “Marconi’s

  1. Pingback: Swimmin’ In The Rain | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

