Musical Meandering


Inspired by this post from Awkward Babble

“One is only poor, only if they choose to be.”

“I may look a little silly standing with my arms stretched open wide. I love you this big, eyes have never seemed this big, no one’s ever dreamed this big, and I’ll spend the rest of my life explainin’ what words cannot describe but I’ll try. I love you this big.”

“When I was just a baby, my mama told me son always be a good boy, don’t ever play with guns. But I shot a man in Reno just to watch him die. When I hear that whistle blowin’ I hang my head and cry.”

“Clap along if you feel like a room without a roof, clap along if you feel that happiness is the truth. Clap along if you know what happiness is to you, clap along if you feel like that’s what you wanna do.”

“Well we got no class, and we got no principals, and we got no innocence! We can’t even think of a word that rhymes!”

“You scared the hell outta me man, the ghost rider. Hold my soul tighter, Jehova take the ropes.”

“Did you ever hear of a clown with teardrops streamin’ down his face.”

“He said son can you play me a memory, I’m not really sure how it goes, but it’s sad and it’s sweet and I knew it complete when I wore a younger man’s clothes.”

“My head is sayin’ fool forget him. My heart is sayin’ don’t let go. Hold on till the end, and that’s what I intend to do. I’m hopelessly devoted to you.”

“Funny face, I love you. Funny face, I need you. These are the sweetest words I’ve ever heard. Funny face, don’t leave me. Funny face, believe me. My whole world’s wrapped up in you.”

“Now come all ye jolly young fellows, I’ll have you take warning by me and whenever you’re out on the liquor me lads, beware of those pretty colleens. For they’ll fill you with whiskey and porter til you are not able to stand, and the very next thing that you know me lads, you’ve landed in Van Diemens land.”

“Runnin’ just as fast as we can. Holdin’ on to one another’s hands. Tryin’ to get away into the night, and then you put your arms around me and we tumble to the ground and then we say, I think we’re alone now.”

“My mother will start to worry, my father will be pacing the floor. No really, I’d better scurry. Well, maybe just a half a drink more.”

“So Mary marry me, let’s not wait, for the distant drums might change our wedding date. Love me now, for now is all the time there may be. If you love me Mary, Mary marry me.”

“Happy Days is my favorite theme song, I can sure kick your butt in a game of ping pong, I can ace any trivia quiz you bring on, I’m fluent in JavaScript as well as Klingon.”

“The weeks went by and Spring turned to Summer and Summer faded into Fall and it turns out he was a missing person who nobody missed at all.”

“Don’t say a word my virgin child. Just let your inhibitions run wild. The secret is about to unfold upstairs before the night’s too old.”

“The moon and stars no longer shine, the dream is gone I thought was mine. There’s nothin’ left for me to do but cry over you.”

“That’s just drinkin’ thinkin’, liquor logic in a can. Your brain says party and your body believes your Superman.”

“Third boxcar midnight train, destination Bangor, Maine. Old worn out suit and shoes, I don’t pay no union dues. I smoke old stogies I have found. Short, but not too big around. I’m a man of means by no means, king of the road”

You can learn a lot about a person just by looking at what songs are on their iPod. I put my iPod on shuffle and listened to the first 20 songs. For each one, I wrote out a line that spoke to me or I found interesting. I’m not sure what all that says about me though. I guess I’ll leave that up to you to think of!

Song credits: “Coat of Many Colors” – Dolly Parton

“I Love You This Big” – Scotty McCreery

“Folsom Prison Blues” Johnny Cash

“Happy” – Pharell Williams

“School’s Out” – Alice Cooper

“Avalanche: – Manafest

“Pop A Top” Alan Jackson

“Piano Man” Billy Joel

“Hopelessly Devoted To You” – Olivia Newton John

“Funny Face” – Donna Fargo

“Black Velvet Band” – the Irish Rovers

“I Think We’re Alone Now” Tiffany

“Baby It’s Cold Outside” Rod Stewart and Dolly Parton

“Distant Drums” Jim Reeves

“White and Nerdy” Weird Al Yankovic

“Goodbye Earl” the Dixie Chicks

“Tonight’s the Night” Rod Stewart

“Singin’ The Blues” Marty Robbins

“Drinkin’ Thinkin'” George Canyon

“King of the Road” Roger Miller

2 thoughts on “Musical Meandering

  1. Pingback: Musical Meandering Round 2 | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

