James Taylor


You just call out my name and you know wherever I am, I’ll come runnin’ to see you again. Winter, spring, summer or fall, all you’ve gotta do is call, and I’ll be there ’cause you’ve got a friend.

Hey blog world! I’ve seen fire and I’ve seen rain and last night I saw James Taylor! I took my best friend to the concert as an early Birthday present.

My best friend in the whole world is Peter Halley.Peter Halley He’s the nicest person I’ve ever met! He makes me laugh, he’s a great listener when I need someone to talk to, he’s the busiest beaver of the colony and yet he manages to find time to do things with me, and most importantly he accepts me for who I am. He’s very special to me and because of that, I wanted to do something special for him.

6 years ago, if you’d asked me who James Taylor was, I would have shrugged my shoulders and said “I don’t know.”. I heard about him for the first time after becoming friends with Peter. James is his favorite singer. A few months ago, I saw online that James would be coming to Newfoundland May 20th and 21st. At that moment, sparks went off in my head. That’s the week before Peter’s Birthday! I made it my mission to get him tickets as an early Birthday gift.

I entered every single contest I could find to win tickets for him, both online and on the radio. I didn’t receive any congratulatory e-mails and each time I tried calling in to a radio station I could never get through, but I didn’t give up. I kept trying and trying. I just had to win those tickets for Peter and make this his best Birthday ever!

Last Thursday, I was on a drive with mom and we were listening to K-Rock. Mike Campbell(one of the morning show hosts) announced that it was time for “None of Your Business”, a daily talk show like thing where listeners call in and talk about something embarrassing or unusual and win a prize. The prize they were giving away that day was James Taylor tickets! Quick as a flash I grabbed my cell and dialed the number. I nearly exploded when Mike’s voice came over the phone!!! I did it! I was minutes away from receiving those elusive tickets! Peter was going to go to James Taylor!!!

I picked them up that afternoon and saw that they were for Friday night’s show. Peter, as you know is an actor and I discovered that he had a show of his own scheduled for that night. I was disappointed. I worked so hard and finally won the tickets, but he won’t be able to go! I immediately took to Kijiji to see if I could find someone willing to swap.

After waiting and waiting and not getting any replies to the ads I posted, my chances seemed very slim because the concert was getting closer and closer! I said to myself  “Shag it, I’m buying tickets!” so I did.

I put my tickets for Friday night up for sale and my friend Evan bought them. I was happy that everyone was happy! Evan and Tiffany (his wife) get a date night, I had tickets for last night and could take Peter to the concert! Everybody won!

Last night was the big night and it was incredible! I didn’t recognize the opening number or the one after it, but they were lovely! When he covered “Every Day” by Buddy Holly, I was so happy! It’s one of my favourite Buddy Holly songs! James did a fantastic job of singing it!

By and by throughout the night, James would take a minute to stop and introduce his band members. I loved how much he loved them! He would say things like “On drums, we have the best drummer in the whole world”, “She has an album out, go get it! It’s fantastic!” and he would shake hands with and hug them after the compliment laden introduction! I thought that was so kind of him! The band really was as incredible as James said they were! I was amazed! They made such beautiful music together!

As I said, I know very little about James Taylor, so almost all the songs last night were totally new to me. I’m glad I got to experience this new musician! Everything he sang was so nice. I felt a warm, fuzzy feeling in my heart all night. His voice is velvety and calming and each of his songs made me feel relaxed and peaceful. I’m seriously considering buying a James Taylor CD to add to my bedtime music collection (I like to fall asleep listening to music).

During the intermission, Peter and I made our way down near the stage. James was signing autographs and taking pictures with people. Peter didn’t want to go up into the crowd, but he said I could if I wanted to. I did! It was a jungle! People pushing through to get to James and others pushing through in the opposite direction to get back to their seats! I got stepped on a few times and smushed a lot! Eventually, I got up in front of him!! I showed him Stuffy, my dragon in hopes of getting a picture of the three of us and called out “James! Get a picture with my dragon please!” I guess he didn’t hear me ask for a picture because he said “You want me to sign your dinosaur thing huh?” I thought that would be cool so I went along with it and said “Sure!” Stuffy is now a million times more special! James Taylor gave him, as I call it, a tattoo!!

image

Peter and Stuffy together after the show.

I then asked again if we could get a picture and he was more than happy to oblige! image. We didn’t talk much, but I heard him talking to the other people in the crowd. I’ve got to say, he’s such a genuine and nice guy!

I had two favorite parts of the second act. One of them was when he sang “You’ve Got A Friend”. I looked at Peter the whole time and sang the song to him! I thank the Lord every night for blessing me with such a wonderful friend . My other favorite part was when he sang “Sweet Baby James”. I heard that song for the first time last week in the car and fell in love with it instantly. It’s such a beautiful song! It was even more beautiful performed live.

Last night was such a wonderful night! While I did immensely enjoy hearing the lovely music and getting a picture with James, my favorite part of the night was seeing the happiness on Peter’s face throughout the night! I’m so happy that he enjoyed his early Birthday present!

Leah

Leave a Reply

