Spirit Art


Hey blog world! I thought I would let you all know of a project that I have going on. It’s called “Spirit Art”.

Last summer, I made my first splatter painting. I braved the wind and rain to create “The Colors of the People” for Rebecca Caine, a Broadway actress who has played in both “Phantom of the Opera” and “Les Miserables”.

Colors of the PeopleShe was performing at the Masonic Temple the following day and I thought I would make her a special welcome to Newfoundland present. Even though it was cold and very wet outside, I had a ton of fun making this piece! Throwing paint at the canvas was a great stress reliever! Rebecca loved the painting! She even compared me to Jackson Pollock, a famous splatter artist! I was thrilled!

As I said, I had so much fun creating Rebecca’s painting and seeing the look of joy on her face made my heart overflow! Making people happy makes me happy! I decided to continue painting.

Also last summer, Spirit of Newfoundland mounted a restoration project for their beautiful home, the Masonic Temple. Built in the 1800’s out of Accrington bricks that were imported from Ireland, the Masonic Temple is the oldest brick fraternal meeting lodge in the province and is both a Canadian Heritage Site and a Newfoundland Heritage Site. In 2008, Spirit of Newfoundland bought the building and it has been their home ever since. This is 2016 and the Temple is in dire need of restoring. The building is very old and is beginning to deteriorate and crumble. The people at Spirit of Newfoundland are my 2nd family and the Temple is my 2nd home! My Spirit family always goes above and beyond for me, I saw this restoration fund as my opportunity to give back and go above and beyond for them!

Thus, Spirit art was born! I made more paintings and am currently trying to sell them to raise money to restore the Temple! I do all kinds! I of course do splatter art

Rainbow Connection

“Rainbow Connection”. I used all the colors of the rainbow plus silver for a magical touch and threw paint onto the canvas to the beat of the Muppets song!

and I also do other styles of art too! Here are some examples!

Pop art

A music inspired pop art painting!

Lukey's Boat

“Lukey’s Boat”, a painting inspired by the Newfoundland song of the same name.

Les Mis Melted Crayon

A melted crayon piece. For this, I took inspiration from my favorite musical “Les Miserables”. I used colors reminiscent of the show and included my favorite quote as well.

I also offer custom splatter paintings! You specify the colors and canvas size and I will make it for you! I offer these in 8×10 ($15), 11×14 ($30) and 16×20 ($40)!

I invite you to click here and visit my Facebook page where you can see my artwork and maybe, hopefully buy a piece! You can also click here to view my page on the Buy My Art! website. Buy My Art! is a program that I became involved with last summer that helps local artists get on their feet and sell their work. At this site you can purchase prints, buttons and magnets of some of my paintings!

If you would like more information about the Masonic Temple, click here to view a virtual tour guided by Peter Halley, Spirit’s artistic director and president, and click here to visit the restoration fund website.

Please blog world, help me help my dear friends at Spirit of Newfoundland! Buy my art!!! Thank you very much in advance!

Leah

3 thoughts on “Spirit Art

  1. I went to Sci-Fi on the Rock a few weeks ago and there was a Buy my Art booth, and I bought three of your pins (a blue and yellow music one, a green Best buddies one and a rainbow splatter one) and they proudly hang from my backpack! I love your art!

  2. Pingback: Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

