Musical Theater Songs You Must Hear Before You Die


Hey blog world! Browsing through Facebook, I came across this article on BuzzFeed. Being the Broadway obsessed person that I am, I thought I would do my own version of that list. Here is my list of Broadway songs you absolutely must listen to before you die!

“Ring of Keys” – “Fun Home

“Can you hear my heart saying hi? In this whole luncheonette, why am I the only one who sees you’re beautiful… no, handsome.”

 

“Suddenly Seymour” – “Litle Shop of Horrors”

“Suddenly Seymour is standing beside you. You don’t need no makeup, don’t have to pretend. Suddenly Seymour is here to provide you with sweet understanding. Seymour’s your friend.”

 

“Somewhere That’s Green” – “Little Shop of Horrors”

“I’m his December bride, he’s father, he knows best. The kids play “Howdy Doody” as the sun sets in the west. A picture out of Better Homes & Gardens magazine. Far from Skid Row, I dream we’ll go somewhere that’s green.”

“Maybe” – “Annie”

“Maybe they’re strict, as straight as a line, don’t really care as long as they’re mine. So maybe now this prayer’s the last one of its kind. Won’t you please come get your baby, maybe?”

“Defying Gravity” – “Wicked”

“So if you care to find me, look to the Western sky! As someone told me lately, everyone deserves the chance to fly!”

“Seasons of Love” – “Rent”

“525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear. 525,600 minutes, how do you measure, measure a year?”

“I Believe” – “Book of Mormon”

“I believe that the Lord God created the universe. I believe that he sent his only son to die for all my sins, and I believe that ancient Jews built boats and sailed to America! I am a Mormon, and a Mormon just believes!”

“Anything Can Happen” – “Mary Poppins”

“If you reach for the stars all you get are the stars, but we’ve found a whole new spin! If you reach for the heavens, you get the stars thrown in!”

“Gethsemene” – “Jesus Christ Superstar”

“I only want to say, if there is a way, take this cup away from me, for I don’t want to taste it’s poison.”

“Memory” – “Cats”

“Memory, turn your face to the moonlight. Let your memory lead you. Open up, enter in. If you find there, the meaning of what happiness is, then a new life will begin.”

 

“If You Were Gay” – “Avenue Q”

“If you were queer, I’d still be here, year after year, because you’re dear to me! And I know that you would accept me too if I told you today “Hey, guess what?! I’m gay!” but I’m not gay.”

“For Good” – “Wicked”

“Whatever way our stories end, I know you have rewritten mine by being my friend.”

“Being Alive” – “Company”

“Somebody crowd me with love, somebody force me to care. Somebody make me come through, I’ll always be there as frightened as you to help us survive being alive!”

“I Can Live With That” – “I Love Y0u, You’re Perfect, Now Change”

“I often think of those I miss. Friends keep dying but I grow strong. Sometimes I have to reminisce. Still does hurt, just not as long.”

“Epilogue” – “Les Misérables”

“For the wretched of the earth, there is a flame that never dies! Even the darkest night will end and the sun will rise!”

“Bring Him Home” – “Les Misérables”

“You can take, you can give. Let him be, let him live. If I die, let me die. Let him live! Bring him home!”

“His Name Is Lancelot” – “Spamalot”

“His name is Lancelot and in tight pants a lot, he likes to dance a lot!”

“Naughty” – “Matilda”

“Even if you’re little you can do a lot! You mustn’t let a little thing like little stop you.”

“Cell Block Tango” – “Chicago”

“He ran into my knife 10 times!”

“Alone in the Universe” – “Seussical”

“I have wings and I can fly around the moon and far beyond the sky! Someday soon, I know there you’ll be, one small voice in the universe, one true friend in the universe who believes in me.”

“All I Ask Of You” – “Phantom of the Opera”

“Say you’ll share with me one love, one lifetime. Say the word and I will follow you. Share each day with me, each night, each morning. Say you love me, you know I do. Love me, that’s all I ask of you.”

“One Day More” – “Les Misérables”

“One day to a new beginning! Raise the flag of freedom high! Every man will be a king! There’s a new world for the winning. Do you hear the people sing?”

“I Could Have Danced All Night” – “My Fair Lady”

“I could have danced all night, I could have danced all night, and still have begged for more. I could have spread my wings and done a thousand things I’ve never done before.”

“Tomorrow” – “Annie”

“The sun’ll come out tomorrow so ya gotta hang on till tomorrow, come what may! Tomorrow, tomorrow, I love ya tomorrow. You’re only a day away!”

“Any Dream Will Do” – “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat”

“I wore my coat, with golden lining, bright colors shining, wonderful and new. And in the east, the dawn was breaking, and the world was waking. Any dream will do.”

“Time Warp” – “Rocky Horror Picture Show”

“With a bit of a mind flip, you’re into the time slip and nothing will ever be the same. You’re spaced out on sensation, like you’re under sedation! Let’s do the time warp again!”

What would you add to this list? Tell me in the comments!

Leah

Leave a Reply

