Money doesn’t buy happiness (but it does buy theatre tickets and that’s pretty close)


Hey blog world! When it comes to spending money I’m not like Madonna. By that I mean I’m no material girl. It’s rare when I spend money on a material thing. Every now and then I’ll buy a book, sock monkey (I collect them) or a movie but not often.

Material things are fun for a little while but eventually I’ll get bored with whatever it is and it will be sent to the dark recess of my closest or underneath my bed to collect dust. I’d much rather spend on experiences and make lasting memories and friendships and fill my scrapbook and autograph book. I have so many stories to tell about the cool people I’ve met and the amazing stuff I’ve seen and done!

My favorite place to shop is a box office. I’m a HUGE fan of musical theater and we have an incredible local arts scene in Newfoundland! There is always something going on and you can bet that I’m there taking it in! I’ve been to literally almost every production that’s been performed! My favorites were “Mary Poppins”, “Annie” (done by Peter MacDonald Productions. I would have loved to but didn’t get the chance to take in Theater St. Johns’ production), “Avenue Q”, “Les Misérables”, “Spamalot” and “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat”. When a theatre company announces that they are going to reveal their production(s) for the year soon, I can’t sleep the night before the big reveal! My mind races all night with a million possibilities and hopes of what it will be! When morning comes, it’s like Christmas morning for me! I excitedly run to the computer to check the theatre company’s Facebook page and see what’s in store.

Musical theater is such a breathtaking and magical experience! I’ll never forget the mesmerizing moment I watched Erin Winsor fly across the Arts and Culture Center stage as Mary Poppins, the mind blowing 80’s explosion that was “His Name Is Lancelot” in “Spamalot”, the heartwarming plot twist at the end of “Grinch Dressing & Gravy” or the time Peter MacDonald’s wig fell off during “Welcome To The 60’s” in a production of “Hairspray” (he was playing Edna)!

I’ve met some of my closest friends through local theater. Our local performers are the nicest people ever! They are part of the select few neurotypical (“normal”) people who accept me. I feel so blessed to have this community of people who see my true colors . To all my very special theater friends I have this to say “You’ll be with me like a hand print on my heart. And now whatever way our stories end, I know you have rewritten mine by being my friend.”

I’ve gotten to go backstage several times after the shows. It’s always so much fun to go back there and see my friends! My favorite backstage experience was “Jesus Christ Superstar” in March. Justin Nurse, who played Jesus took my boyfriend and I on a backstage tour. It was so cool! We got to see some of the props, take in the view from the stage (which was amazing) and see the dressing rooms! Admittedly I’m very directionally challenged when it comes to being backstage! I swear if I had a dollar for every time I’ve gotten lost in the bowels of the Arts and Culture Center I’d have enough to restore the Masonic Temple! I quite enjoyed getting lost backstage after Spamalot though. When my friend Linda and I saw the show, my friend Dana said we could go backstage. We got lost on the way there and back!!! We asked for directions to get backstage and shagged them up! I knew we should have taken that left turn at Albuquerque! Every door we tried lead us back into the auditorium. Eventually we found our way and had a great time chatting with my friends in the show. Once we were done saying hi to my friends we got lost on the way out too! We wound up onstage! That was lots of fun! We goofed around and pretended we were in the show! If you’re reading this Arts and Culture Center employees, please consider making a map so next time I get invited backstage I can find my way to the dressing rooms to see my friends and then find my way back out. Thanks!

I find it sad that in today’s society a lot of people are obsessed with stuff. They need to have the coolest, newest, best thing. Say no to stuff! Get tickets to a musical and make lasting memories and fill your photo album instead of filling your closet with stuff that you don’t use anymore and will eventually forget about!

Leah

Leave a Reply

