My Reading Superstar


Hey blog world! Today Writing 101 asked me to describe a life changing experience with a book. As you all know, I’m dating a superstar! My sweet boyfriend Glen is a gentleman with a heart of gold and he constantly makes me proud of him! “The Cat In The Hat” was the first book he read to me and I’ll never forget that day. It was incredible!

One night, several months ago I was watching TV and the phone rang. I’ll never, ever forget that call. It was Glen and his voice was full of excitement. He said he had something to tell me. I eagerly asked him what it was. “I read “The Cat In The Hat” by myself!” I couldn’t believe what I’d heard! This was a huge accomplishment for him because he has downs syndrome and struggled with reading. I was prouder than ever before! I wished he was there with me so I could have wrapped him in a huge hug!

His grandpa came on the phone and said “I’ve got to say, I’m very thankful you’re his girlfriend. You played a part in this.” I was like “I did?” “Yes.” he said and he told me that ever since I helped Glen learn his lines for “Little Billy: My God Is So Big” (a skit we performed at our Special Olympics teams sleepover) he had been eager to continue learning to read. He picked up a copy of “The Cat In The Hat” at a thrift store, brought it home and read it out loud to his grandpa! It made me feel wonderful that I encouraged him to practice reading and he wants to continue! I was so happy that I fostered a love of reading and a want to learn in Glen.

I really wanted to witness Glen’s new skills for myself so I took him on a reading date to Chapters. We got hot chocolate and cookies at the in-store Starbucks then picked out books to read to each other. I of course chose “The Cat In The Hat” for him to read to me, and for me to read to him, we chose “Old Possum’s Book of Practical Cats” by T.S Elliot. We sat down with our books and I asked Glen to go first. I was amazed! He needed little help from me and read the big words with ease! I was so proud! I gave him a big hug, told him how proud I was of him and said he was a superstar at reading!

Glen has read to me on several other occasions recently and each time I become prouder and prouder of him! He’s becoming more and more of a superstar at reading. He wants another Chapters date soon so I will certainly make that happen. I would really like to have one around Christmas time so we can enjoy Christmas stories together!

How has a book changed your life? Tell me in the comments!

Leah

One thought on “My Reading Superstar

  1. A book that changed my life was Your Erroneous Zones by Wayne W. Dyer (1776). It was recommended by a college friend probably in 1982 and I promptly got a copy and read it. THis was my first self-help book. It helped me identify unhealthy childhood behaviors and gave me not only suggestions for change, but the courage to do it. Thanks for sharing your story!

    https://minick1943.wordpress.com/2015/09/25/writing-101-day-15-cue-from-my-readers/

Leave a Reply

