Virtual Tea


Hey blog world! I’m participating in Blogging 101, a 4 week writing course offered by WordPress. Today I was challenged to do a “virtual coffee date” post. I’d never done one of those before but it seems like fun so here it goes! If we met up at Spirit of Newfoundland for a piece of screech cake and cup of tea this is what I’d tell you.

If we were having tea right now, I’d tell you that I just came from the Mile 1 Center where I auditioned to sing the anthem at Ice Caps hockey games. I practiced for days and felt very confident about my performance. I really hope I get picked because it would be amazing to level up from singing at little league games to singing at home team games!

If we were having tea right now, I’d tell you that I start school on Monday. I will be returning to High School to study world history. Sadly, I didn’t pass that course last year and the college I’ve applied to won’t let me in without it so I have to do it over again this year. It’s a very difficult course and I struggled a lot with it last year. Thankfully, tomorrow I’ll be off to my best friend Peter’s house with my American Girl AG History binder in tow to begin history tutoring! Hopefully with his help and a lot of hard work the 2nd time will be the charm and I’ll pass!

If we were having tea right now, I’d tell you that my art is for sale! I’m over the moon excited that I recently became part of Buy My Art!, a project that helps local artists sell their work. I met up with the founder of the program a few weeks ago and he loved what he saw which made me very happy! He took pictures of my artwork and now my pieces are available on magnets and buttons and you can buy 8X10 prints of my paintings as well. You can do all that on my page of the Buy My Art! website!

If we were having tea right now, I’d tell you that my boyfriend Glen and I solved a mystery last night! We played life sized clue with our youth group! It was lots of fun! The leaders used 5 rolls of tape to turn the floor into a game board and used pictures of some of the members of the group as the suspect cards. Like the board game we had to travel around to all the different rooms and collect clues to figure out who killed Pastor Steve. We played twice and both times I was honestly worried that it might be me! Thankfully I was innocent both times. The first time, one of the other teams solved the case before Glen and I did but when we played it a second time we did it! We had the suspect and the weapon figured out but two rooms left. We took a 50/50 chance and guessed that it was Alex in the Fellowship Hall with the spatula and we were right!!! Glen and I did a happy dance and hugged each other. We were very happy we won!

If we were having tea right now, I’d tell you that I’m on the hunt for a job. Since my job at Spirit of Newfoundland sadly came to an end a few weeks ago (I have a seasonal job there as an office assistant) Mom wants me to find another to tide me over until November when I go back to work at Spirit for the Christmas season. I’ve sent resumés out to dozens and dozens of places but haven’t heard back from one! I hope I’ll hear something soon. Out of all the places I’ve applied I’m really hoping to get hired at the Newfoundland Chocolate Company as a chocolatier. I think it would be lots of fun to make chocolate for a living! It would be so hard to resist eating them though!

If we were having tea right now, I’d tell you that Special Olympics is back in full swing! I had my first bowling practice of the year last Tuesday and next Thursday rhythmic gymnastics starts up again! I’m so happy to be back to Special Olympics. I love seeing all my friends and playing sports! This is my 9th year as a bowler with Special O and my 3rd as a rhythmic gymnast. I’m very excited for rhythmic gymnastics to start next Thursday because Glen is joining the team!!! I was so happy when I heard that! I know he’s going to love rhythmic gymnastics. I really do too. Twirling ribbons is lots of fun!

If we were having tea right now I’d tell you that preparations are underway for my sisters return home for Christmas! My sister Christa lives in Australia with her husband Ben and 1 year old son Lincoln. They are coming home for Christmas this year and we are all very excited! Especially because it will be Lincoln’s very first time seeing snow and our very first time seeing Lincoln in person (my family has only seen Lincoln in pictures and on Skype)! They will be staying with us for a week during their time in Newfoundland so to prepare for that we are cleaning up and getting rid of things we don’t use or need anymore. I can’t wait for them to get here!

If we met up at Spirit of Newfoundland for tea and screech cake (by the way, Spirit is located on 6 Cathedral street in Downtown St John’s and you can stop by for screech cake and tea or coffee any day of the week from 2:30 until 4:00) what would you tell me?

Leah

4 thoughts on “Virtual Tea

  1. Pingback: Virtual Tea #2 | Aspie Diaries

  2. Pingback: Virtual Tea #3 | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

