Last Day Of Work


Hey blog world! Today was a very emotional day for me. It was my last day of work at Spirit of Newfoundland.

I was quite busy today. I started the day by doing inventory. Then, I polished silverware. I enjoyed all the tasks I had to do at Spirit but polishing silverware was one I enjoyed slightly more. I found it sort of relaxing.

My final task was folding the napkins and putting them in mugs. I listened to Peter, Paul & Mary as I did that. Their music makes me happy! When I finished that, just like last summer I got a sinking feeling in my stomach. That was it. I was done my last task of my last day. I was sad to be finished.

A little later, Peter showed up! I gave him the painting that I did for him music pop and he loved it! I put a lot of hard work into it so that meant a lot to me.

Soon, Paul, the general manager called us all into the Screech room. When I turned to go in and saw a cake, flowers and a card addressed to me I was touched by the thoughtful gesture. It was so sweet of them to do that for me! I began crying tears of joy. I cried even more happy tears when I read the card! Everyone wrote beautiful messages. It made my heart smile.

Here are the group pictures we took at the party!

My 2nd family! From L-R Trev, me, Bridget, Kara, Paul, Spencer, Tracy, Alex

My 2nd family! From L-R Trev, me, Bridget, Kara, Paul, Spencer, Tracy, Alex

Peter took the first one so we got another with him in it!

Peter took the first one so we got another with him in it!

It was a lovely send off and I really appreciated that they did that for me. I appreciated everything that everyone at Spirit had done for me this summer. They are all the most sweet, compassionate, caring , fun individuals on the planet! I feel blessed to know and work with them.

Soon, my friend came to pick me up. We were in a bit of a hurry because we were going to the movies (we saw “Pixels”. I give it a 4.5 out of 10) but I took my time walking down the stairs. Leaving was the hardest part of the day. I really didn’t want to! I walked down two of the steps then turned, looked back at the temple, waved, blew it a kiss and said goodbye. I slowly made my way down the rest of the stairs, stopping every now and then to have another look back at the temple. It’s a beautiful building and heaven is inside. I’m really going to miss it and my 2nd family while I’m at school!

Thank you to everyone at Spirit for the most incredible summer ever! Have fun (but not too much fun without me) during the fall season and I can’t wait to see you all again when I come back to work in November! Long may your big jib draw!

Leah

Leave a Reply

