Butterpot Camping Trip


Hey blog world! This week my family has been camping in Butterpot Park. We go there every summer. It’s something I always look forward to! I love spending a week in the outdoors with my family. It’s nice to go off the grid for a while and spend time with nature.

We arrived in the park on Monday after I got off work. I liked the site we had picked out. It was nice and big and we got lots of visits from Chipmunks! They’re one of my favorite woodland animals. They’re so cute!

Monday wasn’t very eventful but it was still nice. I spent a lot of time outside reading “Les Miserables”. It’s such a great book and I find it so hard to put down even though I know what happens (I know the musical off by heart)! We had barbecued hamburgers for supper that night. Yum! Hamburgers are one of my favorite things to cook on the barbecue. We had a fire that night too and roasted marshmallows!

Tuesday was my favorite day. Some of our family came over for a visit! My Poppy, Uncle and his friend came over for jiggs dinner. It was a great afternoon! We sat around the picnic table, shared candy and baked goods and chatted as we waited for dinner. I love spending time with my family! After dinner my Uncle and his friend left but Poppy stayed for a while and him, mom, my niece and I played cards! They are all really glad that we weren’t playing for money! I was on a winning streak! I’m never normally that great at cards so I was really surprised! I’m not a sore winner though. I made sure to congratulate the others and say how good they played when the games were done. We all had a lot of fun playing together.

Yesterday was a relaxing day. My Niece and I started out by playing with bubbles for a while. She blew them and I popped them. Popping bubbles makes me so happy! I feel so free and happy when I frolic around popping bubbles! It’s like I’m in a completely different world! Nothing but me, the bubbles and Lesley Gore (“Sunshine Lollipops and Rainbows” plays in my head)!

Dad was surprised at how quiet mom, my Niece and I were for the majority of the afternoon! He was busy cutting wood and said he didn’t think we were even there! We were immersed in our books! I was captivated by the love story of Marius and Cosette, Mom was lost in her Nora Jones murder mystery and Samantha was enjoying Greg’s latest adventure in the Diary of a Wimpy Kid series. The campsite was like a library! It was nice to just sit and read for a while.

That night we went for a walk. We went all the way around the park. It was chilly out but other than that it was a nice walk. I liked looking at the other campsites. I was glad to get back to my own site though and warm up by the fire!

I’m back home now because it’s raining outside! It poured last night and drenched a lot of our stuff and it’s still rainy and windy outside! We came back to have breakfast and get some dry clothes and other things. Hopefully the weather will improve! The tent is nice but I’d much prefer to be outside watching the squirrels, looking for shapes in the clouds and finishing Les Mis!

Do you like going camping? Why or why not? Tell me in the comments!

Leah

One thought on “Butterpot Camping Trip

Leave a Reply

