If I Had A Billion Dollars


In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “You’re a Winner!.”

Hey blog world! Today’s daily prompt asks this

You’ve just won $1 billion dollars in the local lottery. You do not have to pay tax on your winnings. How will you spend the money?

I would split the cash several ways. First of all I would give $500,000 to the Masonic Temple Restoration Fund. Spirit of Newfoundland’s home, the Masonic Temple was built out of Accrington bricks in the 1800’s and now is in dire need of restoration. They need $500,000 in order to restore the building. Spirit of Newfoundland is my 2nd home and it means the world to me! I’ve made so many lasting friendships and memories there! I’d be more than happy to give them all they need to restore the temple!

Also I would donate some of the money to the Janeway Children’s Hospital Foundation. The Janeway is the children’s hospital in St. John’s and miracles happen there everyday!  I have Aspergers Syndrome (a form of Autism) and also I have Agenesis of the Corpus Collosum. In layman’s terms that means I am missing the Corpus Callosum, a wide band of fibres that connects the left and right side of my brain and transfers motor, sensory and cognitive information between them. Because of these and other things (asthma, allergies and involuntary shaking episodes for example) I’ve been to the Janeway for various different appointments far more times than I can even count! The doctors and nurses are so kind, compassionate and all around wonderful. I really appreciate everything they have done for me. This donation would be my way of saying thank you and ensuring that miracles continue to happen at the Janeway for the children in our province.

I would of course keep some of it for myself as well. One of my biggest dreams is starting a theater company for individuals with special needs so I’d put some of the money towards that. It’s a costly dream but it’ll be worth it! Theater is a great way for these individuals to express themselves and learn social skills. I haven’t quite thought of a name yet but I do know that our first production will be “Rent” Rent.

I’d also use some of the money to travel. The first trip I would take would be to Australia. I’d bring my mom, dad, niece and poppy with me. My sister Crista lives there with her husband Ben and their 1 year old son Lincoln. We haven’t seen them since their wedding in Thailand three years ago! I’m dying to see Lincoln in person. Also I’d love to see the animals they have there. I’ve always wanted to see a koala bear! They look adorable in pictures. I’d love to actually see one in real life!

I’d also go on a trip to Nashville, the birthplace of country music. It’s right on top of my travel bucket list. I’m a huge country music fan, especially the older stuff. George Jones, Patsy Cline, Jim Reeves, Roger Miller and Loretta Lynn are some of my favorite singers. Some of the places I would visit on this trip would be the country hall of fame and the Grand Ol’ Opry. It would be nice to see Whispering Bill Anderson perform again (he was fantastic at the Holy Heart Theater a few years ago) and also it would be a dream come true to see Loretta Lynn or Dolly Parton on the Opry stage!

And of course I’d use some of it for important things like buying a car, house, groceries, paying taxes when I have to start doing so, all the necessities like that.

What would you do if you were the lucky winner of Lotto 649 and were made one billion dollars richer? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “If I Had A Billion Dollars

Leave a Reply

