Second First Day


Hey blog world! Today was incredible! I got to go back to work! Actually, let me rephrase that. I got to go back to heaven! Yes blog world, today I began my 2nd summer work term at Spirit of Newfoundland! Honestly, I consider it my 2nd summer fun term. It’s so much fun it doesn’t feel like work and also my co-workers are my 2nd family.

My second first day had all the magic of my first first day last summer! Mom drove me to work but we were a little too early. There wasn’t anybody there. To kill time Mom dropped me off at Tim Horton’s. I got my hot chocolate, sat down for a few minutes and read then I walked to work. The walk was just as exciting as the first first day! I was full of excitement and had some butterflies too. I couldn’t wait to see my Spirit family again and at the same time I was nervous to meet the new employees, chef Chris and Bridget the accountant. Like last year I sang “I Have Confidence” to myself as I walked to try and shoo away the butterflies and give myself some confidence. It helped a little.

Call me strange but sometimes I talk to the temple. As I approached it this morning I waved at it and said “Good morning old girl! I missed you! I’m glad to be home.” There still wasn’t anyone there when I arrived but I figured it wouldn’t be too much longer. Soon Kara came walking up the steps. We were both very happy to see each other.

When we got inside I set my things down in the coat room. Honestly the coat room was the hardest part about the day because there was a balloon in there. For those of you unaware I’m globophobic. I’m petrified of balloons! Sharing a room with a balloon is easy for everyone else but it’s like sharing a room with Freddy Kruger for a person with globophobia like myself! Every time I would have to go into the coat room for something today I would become uneasy and apprehensive and a little anxious. I would go in and face the balloon because I knew there was something I needed in the coat room but I got out as quick as I could!

Anyway, soon I got to meet Bridget and chef Chris. They were both very nice people who I’m sure will be a pleasure to work with this summer. I had nothing to be nervous about after all!

My first task of the day was inventory. Kathie, whom I was supposed to be meeting with to go over the details of my job was in a meeting so to pass time and help Kara out I said that I would do the inventory for her. It was fun but confusing! I had to recount things so many times! I was proud of myself when I finished.

As I was doing inventory Amelia walked in! I was so excited to see her! I hadn’t seen her in ages and missed her so much! It was awesome to see her again! She’s awesome!

Next Amelia asked me to polish the silverware. I enjoy doing that. I find polishing and sorting the silverware relaxing. I turned on some soft music as I worked and I felt kind of at peace.

Soon Kathie finished the meeting she was in and I came downstairs for a meeting with her. We discussed my job and what I was expected to do. This summer my job revolves around social media, posting on the Facebook and Twitter pages for Happy Camper and Spirit of Newfoundland. I’m sure I’ll really enjoy that.

My final task of the day was putting e-mails on the mailing list. That was fun too even though some of the e-mails were hard to read. I bopped along to music as I worked. I went with some more upbeat tunes this time. Rush and Bruno Mars for example. I find that listening to music while working motivates me and makes the job more fun.

As I was doing this Peter came in!!! He didn’t stay long but it was lovely getting to see him. I gave him an edited copy of my book “Harold in the Kitchen”. I had it for the longest time and never got around to giving it to him. He was really happy to receive it. He hasn’t read it yet (as far as I know) but I hope that when he does he’ll enjoy it.

I had something for my friend Evan too. I left it in his office because he wasn’t in today. He reads my blog so I won’t say what it is. I love making things for people! Homemade presents are the best presents.

I got the nicest compliment from my sweet friend Trev today. He called Spirit to say that he was stopping into Tim Horton’s on the way to work and wanted to know if his favorite girls wanted anything! How sweet is that! It made my day hearing that I was one of his favorite girls! Thanks Trev! You’re one of my favorite guys.

When I was off I had a lengthy conversation with Kara and Amelia. That was one of the things I missed most about working at Spirit. Chatting with my Spirit fam was one of the things I missed most about working last summer. It was wonderful catching up with Kara and Amelia. We talked about school, the books I’ve written and all sorts of other things. It was great.

Soon Mom pulled into the parking lot and it was time to go home. I was sad to leave. I had such a wonderful first day! I had so much to tell Mom during our drive. I can’t wait to come back to work on Monday!

I’m also really looking forward to mixing business with pleasure tomorrow night. Kathy wants me to come and see “Our Celtic Spirit Written In Crayon” and take pictures. My date will be a lovely, handsome man who means everything to me. My poppy. I love spending time with him.

This is going to be another fantastic summer! I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me in the coming weeks. Long may your big jib draw blog world!

Leah

Leave a Reply

