Grade 12 Memories


Hey blog world! I have only one day of classes left before exams (I’m out tomorrow for a Special Olympics event)! Holy cats where did the time go? I have been studying hard so I think I’m ready but I still feel quite nervous! Please cross your fingers for me! Anyway since the year is coming to a close I thought I would (as I usually do) post up my best memories of this school year!

My favorite subject hands down was writing! I had been wanting to take it since I arrived at high school! I was ecstatic when there was finally room for me this year! loved the whole course but personally my favorite unit was the essay unit. That unit received a lot of groans from my classmates but I was happy! Essay’s are one of my favorite things to write. I’m very passionate about advocating for issues that are important to me (for example in this unit I wrote an essay on why teens should join their Church youth group and I also wrote an essay attempting to persuade women to learn Wen-Do, a form of self defense for women). Another thing I liked about the course was SSW’s. Sustained Silent Writing. Sir would tell us to start and we would write down whatever came to our mind and weren’t allowed to stop until sir said that we could. It felt very freeing to release my thoughts onto the page and it was a great way to get songs out of my head!

I also enjoyed clothing. In that course we learned how to sew. It wasn’t very easy at first but with time I got the hang of it. I used the sewing machine for the first few projects but found it difficult to use so I switched to hand sewing. It took longer but it was easier than the machine and I found it was quite relaxing. I really took a liking to hand sewing. I do it at home now! Anyway each time I’d finish a project I’d look at it in amazement and feel very proud of myself! I felt really proud being able to show it to people and say “I made this!” I’m glad I decided to give this course a try.

I made a new friend at school this year. His name is Jake. Jake was new to the special needs classroom this year. He uses a wheelchair. Just like me he loves music! He loves to take it easy after lunch by turning on the fan, watching a multicolored disco ball spin around and sing along with his CD’s. Sometimes I sit with Jake and we sing together. He’s a great singer. We sound great together, especially when belting out an ABBA tune (ABBA is one of his favorite bands)! Singing with Jake makes my heart overflow with happiness! I can tell it makes him happy too, he always has a big smile on his face.

I reconnected with an old friend this year too. In grades 10 and 11 my best friend was a girl named Dominique. She was in the special needs classroom. She was an intelligent young woman who absolutely loved life! I don’t recall ever seeing her sad! She always had on a smile that could brighten the darkest of rooms. She and I loved to read, draw pictures and do sensory play with raw macaroni (I highly recommend this. It feels really nice on your hands.) She graduated last year and while I’m extremely proud of her I miss her a lot too. One day, earlier in the year, one of the student assistants who worked in the special needs class came to my bio class and asked the teacher if it was ok if I stepped out for a few minutes as Miss Hemmings wanted to see me. She said it was ok. When I arrived inside Miss Hemmings classroom Dominique was there! I was overjoyed to see her again! I missed her and her hugs so much! I gave her a big hug and didn’t want to let go. My year was made getting to see her again! I don’t know what she’s up to now but I hope that life has brought her only good things!

For the 2nd year in a row I competed in QE’s Got Talent. Last year, while the students all loved my song and some even thought I wrote it (I performed “Taylor the Latte Boy”) I didn’t win, but that was ok. I had fun and everyone really enjoyed it! I thought I’d try again this year. This year I performed “I Don’t Know How To Love Him” from “Jesus Christ Superstar”. Again everyone loved it but I didn’t win. For the 2nd year in a row Idol Sock, a punk rock/screamo band won. I’m not a fan of their music (they are much too loud! I left the cafeteria before they started) but I was still happy for them and congratulated them. I only did it for the fun and was happy with my performance. I thought I did fantastic.

We studied “Les Misérables” in French this year. I’m a HUGE Les Mis fan! It’s such a beautiful musical. I had been looking forward to studying the book since I arrived at High School! I knew I would rock that novel study because I knew everything about Les Mis! I even have the musical memorized! I hadn’t read the book until we did it in class. I really enjoyed it. I could picture the show and hear the songs as we read.

I went to the breakfast club almost every day. I can’t say no to free hot chocolate! Also my breakfasts at home are usually pretty starchy and full of carbs (hash brown’s, eggo’s, pancakes, cheerio’s etc) so it was nice to have some fruit and cheese at breakfast club to balance things out.

I took a first aid course. It was a mandatory component of my workplace safety course and was worth 15% of my grade. I was honestly a little scared because I’m very squeamish and have a weak stomach. It doesn’t take much to turn it! Also I panic in emergency situations! It wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be, except for the end when we learned about how to treat severed limbs. I had to look away! Anyway I learned a lot from that course and am glad that I did it! I hope to never be in a situation where I have to use my skills but if I am I know what to do.

I had the honor of bringing up the wreath of poppies and reciting a poem at our remembrance day assembly. I was very humbled and proud that I was asked to do these things.

I got to participate in several activities with the special needs class. I’m very glad they allowed me to do so. We’ve done so much together this year! Some of my favorites were sewing pillows, making ice cream cake, bowling in the cafeteria (with a plastic lawn bowling set) and watching “Annie”. That day I thought it was so sweet how when it got to the part that always makes me cry (the heartbreaking reprise of “Maybe”) they comforted me and my friend Katie even gave me a big hug! That made me feel a lot better.

In my workplace safety course, if we had the class last period on a Friday we would get to watch a show! The teacher has a bunch of episodes of “Dirty Jobs” and “Mythbusters” downloaded onto his computer so he would let us pick what to watch. I always voted for “Mythbusters”. They’re so cool!

For the third year in a row I tried out for the school’s improv team. Again I didn’t make it but I had such a blast at the tryouts! Two days of improv games was enough to make me happy.

As I did every year, every Friday at recess I bought a piece of fudge from the special needs students. I think they probably have amassed well over $100 from me! I’m not sure how much 50 cents a week for three years is but I know it’s a lot. Their fudge was to die for! My favorite flavor was orange chocolate but this year they introduced cookie dough!!! Orange chocolate lost it’s top spot to that heavenly new flavor!

I got to be Lady MacBeth when my English class read the play. It was pretty fun! I liked being queen. Out damn spot! LOL! That was my favorite line.

What are some of your favorite memories from this school year? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

