Sophie At Work


Hey blog world! In my writing class at school we’re writing short stories. I thought that I’d share the one that I wrote. It’s a story about Spirit of Newfoundland! I call it “Sophie At Work.” Enjoy!

“Good morning sleepyhead!” Mary Ennis said happily as she pulled the covers away from her three year old daughter Sophie’s bed.

“Mama!” exclaimed Sophie happily.

“Ready for another day of fun with Alice?” Mary asked.

“Awice! Awice!” Sophie cheered. Alice is a young woman down the street that looks after Sophie while Mary is at work.

“Let’s get you all ready for the day honey.” Mary said.

After helping Sophie get dressed they headed downstairs to get breakfast. “What would you like this morning Sophie?” asked Mary.

“O’s!” Sophie said.

“Cheerio’s it is then!” said Mary. She had just finished pouring the cereal into a bowl when the phone rang. “Hello.” said Mary picking up the receiver

“Hi Mary.” said the voice on the other end. It was Alice.

“Hi Alice. Sophie is really looking forward to seeing you today, as always.”

“About that…I meant to tell you this but I forgot. I’m about to take the bus to Gambo. I have a volleyball tournament there all week. Sorry!”

Mary was very upset by this. “How could you forget to tell me?!” she exclaimed “Finding a babysitter on short notice is barely possible! I trust you to be responsible when it comes to Sophie and this doesn’t cut it!”

“I’m sorry Mary. I’ve been so busy with volleyball practice and my night courses at MUN that it just slipped my mind.”

“I’ll forgive you this time but please don’t do it again!”

“I won’t.”

“Good. Thank you for calling and good luck in your tournament!”

“Thank you Mary. Goodbye!”

“Bye!” Mary replied. When she hung up she went into full panic mode. “Fudge!” she exclaimed “What am I going to do?!”

“Mama pwobwem?” asked Sophie

“Yes dear.” Mary said frantically “Mama big, BIG problem! Alice can’t look after you all week. I have to find someone else.”

That was not as easy a task as Mary had thought. She called everyone she could think of but no one was able to take Sophie. Mary was very downhearted. She looked at the clock and it was almost 8:30, the time she leaves to go to work every morning. She works at Spirit of Newfoundland as a receptionist. “I guess I’ll have to take you to work with me this week.” she said.

“Mama erk!” Sophie exclaimed excitedly.

Mary called Paul, one of her bosses to see if she would be able to take Sophie with her. “I don’t know.” he said unsurely. “Three is a very young age. I’m a bit concerned about her behavior.”

“I promise she’ll be good Paul!” Mary pleaded “She’ll take her crayons with her to keep her occupied. I promise she won’t cause any trouble! Please let me take her. She has nowhere else to go!”

“Alright” said Paul with a sigh “she can come with you, BUT if she misbehaves she will not be allowed back. Understood?”

“Yes Paul. Thank you. Goodbye.” Mary hung up the phone. “You’re coming to work with mama” she said to Sophie “but mama’s boss said that you have to be good. Do you promise to be a good girl all week?”

“I pwomise.” Sophie said sweetly.

A half hour later they arrived at work. “Good morning Kara!” Mary said to her co-worker as she set her things down at her desk in the bar.

“Good morning Mary!” she replied “Who’s this adorable little girl with you?”

“Sobie!” Sophie announced.

Mary and Kara giggled. “This is my daughter Sophie.” Mary said “Her babysitter will be in Gambo all week for a volleyball tournament so she’ll be coming to work with me.”

“How nice.” said Kara “I’m sure we’ll all enjoy having her around this week.” she said giving Sophie a smile.

“Sobie ig earl. Erk!” Sophie said happily.

“Yes, Sophie is a big girl!” Kara said “I bet you’ll be a big help to us! Speaking of big help, it’s your turn to do inventory today Mary.”

“Ok then.” Mary said. She took the inventory sheet from the bar and left.

Paul popped his head into the bar. “Kara, can I talk to you for a minute?” he asked

“Sure Paul.” she replied. She stepped outside the bar to have their conversation.

Sophie decided to look around the bar. The first thing that caught her eye was the computer. “Puter!” Sophie exclaimed. Opened up on the computer was a list of people that were getting Screeched in that day and where they are from. It was to be sent to Hillary, one of the office assistants so she could type the information onto Screech in certificates. Sophie sat down in the steno chair and began hitting the keys. “Sobie erk!” she happily said. By accident she deleted the document!

Kara walked back into the bar and smiled at Sophie. “Look at you!” she exclaimed “You look like such a big girl sitting at my desk!” Then she realized something “Wait a minute.” she gasped “I had a document opened!!! Oh my goodness, please tell me you didn’t delete that Sophie!!”

Sophie shrugged her shoulders. “Sobie no know.” she innocently said

Kara frantically scrolled through My Documents searching for the file. She panicked when it wasn’t there. “Oh Sophie! It’s gone! There were 75 names on that list! Hillary wants it this afternoon! It will take me forever to do it again!”

Mary walked back into the bar “Did you plan on keeping Sophie up here with us?” Kara asked her

“No. She’s going to spend the day in the boardroom drawing pictures.” Mary replied

“Good! Please bring her down there now! I don’t want her near the computer anymore. She deleted the Screech in list that Hillary needs this afternoon! I’m going to need your help re-doing it.”

“I’m really sorry about that Kara. I’ll bring her downstairs right away and I promise she won’t bother you anymore.”

Mary brought Sophie downstairs to the boardroom. “This is the boardroom where you’ll be spending your day.” she said. “You get to sit at the big girl table in a cool chair that spins and draw mama pictures!” She laid Sophie’s crayons on the table and gave her some paper to draw on. “Have fun sweetie! If you need mama I’ll be upstairs.”

Mary left the boardroom and entered Bridget the accountant’s office a few doors down. “Morning Bridget!” said Mary “Can I ask you a favor?”

“I’m really busy Mary.” she replied “I don’t know if I can. What is it?”

“I have to take my daughter Sophie with me to work this week.” said Mary “She’ll be in the boardroom all day drawing pictures. Can you keep an eye on her for me please?”

“I have a lot of T4’s to do and a mountain of receipt forms that need to be filled out! I’ve got my hands full but I’ll see what I can do.”

“Thanks Bridget.” said Mary, then she headed upstairs.

In the boardroom Sophie took out her crayons and spread them across the table to begin her artwork. What Mary didn’t notice when she was setting things up for Sophie was a pile of important documents belonging to Peter Halley, one of Mary’s other bosses sitting within Sophie’s reach. “Specal paber!” she said eyeing the sheets. She made dozens of drawings all over them.

Upstairs Mary was hard at work. Soon, in his usual laid back, happy nature Peter walked into the bar. The warm smile on his face made it easy to tell that he was, as usual in a very good mood.  Good morning Mary!” he said cheerfully “Can you type something up for me please? My iPad died so I had to write everything down.”

“Certainly Peter” Mary said “what do you need?”

“Prop, costume and slide lists for our upcoming summer shows. Also some edits for the “Our Celtic Spirit” script. I watched the video last night and the script we have is really messed up. I would love if you could get all that typed out for me.”

Then Sophie came running into the bar with her drawings. “Mama, mama, ook! Specal paber picdures!” she exclaimed proudly.

“How sweet!” said Peter with a smile.

“Peter this is my three year old daughter Sophie.” Mary said “She’ll be coming to work with me all week.”

“Wonderful! Let’s see the drawings you made Sophie!” She proudly handed Peter one of the pieces of paper. Peter gasped and his eyes grew wide and his jaw dropped. “Oh no!” he exclaimed.

“What’s the matter Peter?” Mary asked.

“Sophie drew all over the important papers I just told you about! Now I have to do everything all over again!”

“Oh my gosh! I’m really sorry Peter. I’ll help you with that once I finish helping Kara. When I brought Sophie downstairs I gave her blank papers to draw on. I don’t know how she managed to get her hands on yours!” Mary turned to Sophie “Honey you were supposed to draw on the papers mama gave you. Not these!”

“Oopsie!” said Sophie innocently.

“It’s ok Sophie.” Mary said with a sigh “Go back downstairs now and make some more pictures on the blank paper.”

So Sophie did. A little later she got thirsty so she went back upstairs to the bar to ask Mary for some milk. “Mama moo moo joo!” Sophie said knocking on the back of Mary’s steno chair. Mary, who was on the phone, shushed Sophie. Sophie knocked on the chair again and exclaimed “Moo moo joo!” even louder. Mary shushed her again and motioned for Sophie to leave the bar. “Mama no moo moo joo.” Sophie said sadly. Then out of the corner of her eye Sophie noticed a large shelf in the next room filled with bottles. “Moo moo joo?” Sophie wondered and headed towards the bottles. She was headed for the Screech room, a mini museum and shop where patrons could purchase Screech and various other Screech related products.

She entered the Screech room, approached the shelf with screech and took down a bottle of honey flavored screech with a yellow label. “Yewo moo moo joo!” Sophie exclaimed happily. Yellow is her favorite color. She took the lid off the bottle and took a drink. She spit it out immediately! “Yuggy moo moo joo! No want!” She dropped the bottle on the floor and it shattered! “Yuggy moo moo joo go boom!” The shattering of the glass startled Mary who put the patron she was speaking with on hold and ran into the screech room. Paul, who was in the kitchen, did too. Both were horrified when they saw Sophie surrounded by the broken glass! “What in the world happened in here?” They both exclaimed in unison.

“Yuggy moo moo joo go boom!”

“You’re supposed to be watching her Mary.” Paul said sternly. “Screech doesn’t come cheap! We can’t afford any broken bottles! Flavored Screech is more expensive than the regular kind. The bottle of honey Screech she just broke costs $40!”

“I’m sorry Paul.” she said “I was on the phone taking a reservation. I’ll keep a better eye on her from now on.”

“Good. Now please clean up this mess, and the $40 to replace the bottle are coming from your paycheck!”

“I understand.”

As Mary was cleaning she didn’t notice Sophie leave the screech room to explore. She wandered into the grand room and was amazed when she saw the guitars set up on stage for the Eagles tribute show that night. “Mugic!” exclaimed Sophie excitedly. She ran onstage to look at the guitars. “Sobie ake mugic!” she said as she fiddled with the silver tuning knobs on the guitars. When no noise came out she tried playing the strings. Shrill, loud and out of tune music emitted from the instruments. Sophie was very pleased with herself. “Mugic!” she exclaimed happily. To go along with her “music” she began singing her favorite song in her jumbled three year old way at the top of her lungs. “Memwy! All awone in da moowight! Smile at de old ays! Boodiful den!”

Paul was not happy. “MARY!” he yelled. Mary entered the grand room slowly with her head down. “Sophie is really getting on my nerves! This is why I wasn’t very sure about allowing her here. You promised me that she would behave but yet she’s deleted Kara’s Screech in list, drawn all over Peter’s documents, broken a bottle of screech and has put all the guitars out of tune! I’m sorry but if you can’t control her and she can’t behave then neither of you can come back.”

“NO!” Sophie screamed “Mama need erk! Sobie ba gearl. Sobie sowwy.” she began to cry.

Peter, hearing all the commotion came into the grand room. “I think you’re being a little harsh on Mary and Sophie.” he said. “Sure Sophie caused a lot of trouble today but she’s only three! Toddlers are very curious and explorative and that can get them into trouble sometimes.” He walked over to Sophie and gave her a hug. “There there Sophie” he said gently “your mama gets to keep her job. I’ll give both of you another chance.”

Sophie smiled “Tank ou Peber!”

“Yes, thank you very much!” Mary said. “I really appreciate you giving me another chance.”

“You’re both very welcome.” Peter said.

“Are you sure about this Peter?” Paul asked “Sophie will cause more trouble if she comes back!”

“No she won’t.” said Peter “I have an idea. Come with me to the screech room for a minute Sophie. I’d like to talk to you.”

Sophie and Peter sat down in the screech room and Sophie finally got her milk. “Did you have fun today?” Peter asked Sophie

“Yes! Ig fun!” she said happily.

“Fabulous! Do you want to come back?”

“Yes!”

“I thought so. The thing is, if you do then you can’t behave like you did today ok. There are a lot of important things in this building that are not for little hands to be poking at. You must ask before you touch anything. If you keep poking at things that don’t belong to you and causing trouble then you won’t be allowed to come back. You don’t want that do you?”

“No.” said Sophie shaking her head.

“Promise to ask before touching from now on?”

“Yes Peber. I pwomise.”

“Good girl!” he said patting her on the head. “I have an idea for a special job for you! One that won’t get you into trouble. Do you like playing dress up?”

“Wuv dwesses!” said Sophie excitedly.

“Wonderful! For the rest of the week you can help my friend Carol in our costume bank. You can help her get everything organized and I’m sure she’ll even let you try on some of the costumes! How does that sound?”

“Fun!”

“Come with me and I’ll show you where you’ll be working.” On the way, Peter discussed his idea with Mary and Paul and they all agreed that it was the perfect job for little Sophie.

When they arrived in the costume bank Sophie was speechless. She stared wide eyed in amazement at all the pretty and colorful costumes. “Wow!” she said mesmerized.

“Oh, hello!” said Carol turning around.

“Hi Carol” said Peter “I have an assistant for you this week.”

“Sobie ig earl! Erk!” Sophie proudly announced.

Carol giggled “Hi sweetie!” she said with a smile.

“This is Sophie, she’s Mary’s daughter.” said Peter “Her babysitter is gone away for the week so she’ll be coming here. I thought it would be nice for the two of you to work together.”

“What a lovely idea! I’d love to work with her this week.”

As they were talking Sophie explored the bank looking at all the pretty costumes. She found the tall, swirly blonde wig and fluffy purple jacket with pink cotton balls from the Grinch show. Remembering her promise to Peter she asked “Sobie ear pwease?”

“Of course!” said Carol.

Happily Sophie tried on the jacket and wig. Peter and Carol couldn’t get over how adorable she looked. They brought her upstairs to look in the mirror.

“Sobie pwetty!” she said with a smile.

“You certainly are very pretty.” said Carol “and I’m certain we’ll have lots of fun together this week and you’ll be an excellent helper!”

The end

One thought on “Sophie At Work

  1. Pingback: Mormon Fever | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

