Ideas for Spirit of NL Shows


Hey blog world! Spirit of Newfoundland has announced their summer shows!!! I’m beyond ecstatic! I’m certainly checking out all 3. They have brought back “Our Celtic Spirit Written in Crayon” and “I Love You, You’re Perfect, Now Change” and are debuting the new show “It’s My Party”. They all sound amazing! I have a few ideas myself for shows that Spirit could do! Here they are!

“Men Doin’ Women”: Starring Darrin Martin, Peter Halley and Keith Power. They have had a huge success with “Women Doin’ Men”, Dana Parsons, Janet Cull and Kelly-Ann Evans singing songs by male artists. I think it would be really cool if they did a reverse version and Peter, Darrin and Keith sang songs by female artists! I can see it already! I think Darrin would do a beautiful rendition of “I Will Always Love You”. I think he would do well singing Adele’s songs too. I would love to see Keith do something by Brittany Spears or maybe even “Wrecking Ball” by Miley! I think Peter would sound great doing Donna Summer. I think he wound do a lovely job of “Beauty and the Beast” too. Together I think the three of them would harmonize wonderfully on “Travellin’ Soldier” by the Dixie Chicks and it would be so much fun to see them all do “Wannabe” by the Spice Girls!

“Take Me out to the Ball Game”: A show about sports! There are plenty of great sports related songs at their disposal for this show. For example “Centerfield” by John Fogerty, “The Boys of Fall” by Kenny Chesney, “The Good Old Hockey Game” by Stompin’ Tom Connors, one of my personal favorites “Right Field” by Peter Paul and Mary and of course “Take Me Out To The Ball Game”. For the skits in-between they could do perhaps something with a Leafs fan and Habs fan, a pre or post game pep talk, skeets playing sports, elders watching sports and maybe one of the actors could do Andy Griffith’s “What it was was Football” monologue about a pastor who was going to hold a tent service in a college town and happens upon a football game.

“Tonight’s The Night”: Spirit has done a lot of tributes to various artists and bands. Simon and Garfunkel, Neil Diamond, Frank Sinatra, ABBA, etc. I think it’s time they do a tribute to Rod Stewart! Darrin played him really well in “Go Duet Yourself” so I think that if this show ever does happen he should play Rod again. This show should of course include all his well known and popular songs and throw in a few of his lesser known gems too like “Broken Arrow” and “The Killing of Georgie“.

“Land Of 1000 Dances”: In this show they could take a look at different dance styles and the dance crazes from the past like the Time Warp, twist, jitterbug, moonwalk, locomotion, YMCA etc and the present, twerking.

I don’t know if any of my ideas will ever grace the Spirit of NL stage but it would certainly be amazing if one of them did! If you want more information on Spirit and their new summer shows and schedule call 579-3023 or visit their website http://www.spiritofnewfoundland.com

Leah

Leave a Reply

