Newfoundland Dictionary


Hey blog world! Last night I was skyping with my sister Christa. Christa is from Newfoundland originally but now she lives with her husband Ben and son Lincoln in Australia. She’s going to host a Newfoundland party for some friends of hers soon. We have our own special way of talking here in Newfoundland and Christa wants to brush up on her Newfie talk and Ben wants to learn it in time for the party. To help them in doing so Christa asked me to write her a Newfoundland dictionary. challenge accepted

I thought I’d post some of it up here and educate all of you in Newfienese as well!

A:

A bad good: Something that’s very good. “Purity Jam Jams are a bad good.”

Arn: A question asked by one fisherman to another. It means “Are there any fish biting?”

All mops and brooms: Untidy hair

B:

Bayman: A Newfoundlander not from St. John’s

Biver: Shiver

Blow the back end right out of ‘er: Let out a large fart

Blowed up like a sculpin: You’re full and unable to eat anymore. “Dat was some good feed a jigs! I’s blowed up like a sculpin now b’y!”

C:

Cheap enough to take the coppers off his mother’s eyes: A stingy, greedy, penny pinching person.

Come from away: A tourist.

Come here I thinks I wants ya: I’d like to have a word with you.

Crooked: Grouchy

D:

Da roads are like da bottle: Dangerous and slippery road conditions.

Da skitters are some tick b’y: There are lots of mosquito’s around.

Deed I is me ol’ cock: Yes I certainly am.

Done it brown: Alluding to burnt bread this means you’ve overdone something.

Done up like a stick a gum: Dressed to the nines.

Don’t pick the red ones, they’re green: A Newfoundlander giving advice on blueberry picking. Don’t pick the red ones because they are not ripe yet.

D’rackly: In a few minutes. “I’ll be dere d’rackly.”

F:

Falling weather: Rain or snow. “Get yer umbrella ready b’y. Eddie Sheerr is calling for falling weather tomorrow!”

Fousty: Spoiled, rotten, unfit to eat.

G:

G’wan b’y: Are you serious?

Get a crop: Get a haircut.

Get da smell a da house off ya: Go outside for a while.

Go on home yer mudder got lassy buns: What you would say when trying to get rid of someone.

God love ya me ol’ trout: An appreciative thank you.

Gutfounded: Very hungry.

H:

Had like: Something that almost happened. “I had like to die laughing at dat foolish crowd on “Codco”” (“Codco” is an old Newfoundland sketch comedy show.)

Hand like a foot: A clutz. “Jim just tripped over his own shoelaces! He’s got a hand like a foot b’y!”

Hard ticket: A trouble maker.

Heave your stomach: vomit.

Hop yer carcass here: Come here this instant.

I:

I dies at you: What you would say to someone you find funny.

I haven’t seen hide nor hair of him: I haven’t seen him anywhere.

I spose: I suppose.

In a tear: In a hurry. “Sam was in a tear because he was running late for work.”

L:

Let drift with: Throw something forcibly. “1 year old Lincoln who was having a tantrum let drift with a building block.”

Loggy: Feeling tired. “After a long day at work I’m right loggy.”

Long may your big jib draw: Well wishes for the future.

Luh: Look!

M:

Me nerves is rubbed right raw: I’m very agitated.

Me ol’ cock: A friend “‘Ow is ya me ol’ cock?”

Mind yer mouth: Be careful of what you say.

More lip than a rubber boot: This person talks too much.

Mug up: Having a cup of tea.

Mummering: A popular Christmas tradition where disguised people would go around from house to house singing and dancing. The homeowners had to try and guess who the mummers were.

N:

Narn: The response if there are no fish biting. See arn.

Nice day on clothes: The weather is good enough to put the clothes on the clothesline.

Nice enough to trow a rock at: I don’t like that person.

Now da once: Soon. “I’ll be over now da once.”

O:

Oh me nerves ya got me drove: You’re driving me crazy!

On the dole: An unemployed person who is collecting unemployment insurance.

On the rag: A bad tempered person.

‘Ow’s she cuttin: How are you?

P:

Pelt of a tripe: A rascal. “At times Billy can be a pelt of a tripe.”

Planchen: The floor.

Puddock: Stomach.

Put da side back in ‘er: Close the window.

Put the kettle on maid: A man telling his wife to make supper or that they have company coming.

R:

Right: A synonym for very. “Newfoundland is a right nice place to live.”

Run like a scalded cat: Run very fast.

S:

Say nothing and saw wood: Keep your mouth shut and don’t make any comments.

Scoff and a scuff: Dinner and dance.

Scrub up: Get clean.

Shag it: A term for when you’re fed up with or have had enough of something, as to say “Forget it!”

She’s aimin’ to blow: There’s going to be a storm.

She thinks she poops Dixie cups: Referring to someone snobby.

Sleeveen: A mischievious person.

Slew around: Turn around.

Smot: A combination of “Some” and “Hot”. “Janet looked smot in her dress.”

Some shockin’ good: The meal you just ate was delicious.

Stay where yer to till I comes where yer at: Stay there till I get there.

Streel: A messy and untidy looking person.

Stunned as me arse: Very stupid.

T:

Take a gawk at dat b’y: Look at that.

The doors not an arsehole, it doesn’t shut itself: Shut the door.

Three sheets to the wind: Extremely drunk.

Think about: To be in love with. “Jake’s been thinking about Leslie for some time now.”

Time: Any sort of social function.

Tongue banging/lashing: A scolding.

Tother: The other.

Townie: A Newfoundlander who lives in St. John’s.

Touton: A popular breakfast item in Newfoundland a touton is a piece of fried bread dough often served with syrup or molasses.

W:

Whaddaya gettin’ on wit: What are you talking about?

Wha: What?

Wait a fair wind and you’ll get one: Await opportunity.

Wasisname: What you call something or someone you don’t know the name of. “Pass me dat wasisname”, “Buddy wasisname”

What odds: Who cares?!

Who knit ya: Who’s your mother?

Y:

Yarn: A story.

Yer cracked b’y: A response when someone says something unbelievable.

Yes b’y: 1: Confirmation of what was said. 2: Exclamation of excitement or joy. 3: Used in a sarcastic mannor as to say “Yeah right!”

You can eat the funks me son: You’re eating a lot.

You got da face only a mudder could love: You’re ugly.

You’re not too mossy: Referring to a bright/intelligent person.

Your paws will never maintain your jaws: Said of a person who lives extravagantly. You will never earn enough to support yourself.

If you have any suggestions for words or phrases I should add in let me know in the comments! Long may your big jib draw blog world!

Leah

Leave a Reply

