By Hand


Hey blog world! Once again in search of inspiration for a blog post (I’ve been dry on ideas lately for some reason. Must be exam brain. Focusing so much on studies that my brain is dry of everything else! Thankfully exams ended Friday so hopefully I’ll be able to think of some original blog post ideas soon!) I went to the Daily Post. In the “Random Prompts” section I came across “By Hand”.

What’s the best present you’ve ever received that was handmade by the giver, not store-bought? Tell us what made it so special.

Handmade gifts are always the most special ones. They have a lot more meaning to them than something from the store. It really shows that the giver cares when they make something for you. The best handmade present that I ever received was my Raggedy Ann doll that my Aunt sewed for me. She’s beautiful! I love her pretty red yarn hair and the blue, flowery dress she has on. My favorite part of the doll is when you lift up her dress there’s a red heart stitched onto her tummy that says “I love Leah”. She was my favorite doll when I was a little girl. I still have her and every now and then I love to look at the special heart and give her a hug.

I’ve gotten a lot of special handmade cards as well. I don’t know what happened to it and am sad because of that but for my 14th Birthday my friend Sarah made me a Red Green Birthday card. It was awesome! She drew a picture of Red on the front and all around him were words like “Possum”, “Quando Omni Flunkus Morritati” and “Duct Tape”. I can’t remember what was inside the card unfortunately. It was the best card I received that year! I wanted to frame it!

This year for my Birthday my friend Samantha made me an absolutely adorable card! It had Olaf from “Frozen” on it! Samantha is a person worth melting for, let me tell you. She’s a very special friend to me and that card she made me was equally as special. It put a huge smile on my face and made me so happy! Every time I open my scrapbook of cards and see that one it makes me smile and think of Sam and remember all the fun times we had together (she graduated last year so I rarely get to see her anymore.)

I love giving handmade gifts just as much as receiving them. It’s hard work and time consuming but it really pays off in the end. Making people happy makes me feel really good inside. I made Spirit of Newfoundland keychains that I gave to the cast of “Beatles: Back In The N.F.L.D” and they all loved them! That made me so happy!

I hand sewed a chew toy for Peter Halley’s dog Lucy and the day that I brought it to my music lesson and Peter gave it to her my heart just overflowed watching her play with it. I’m so happy that she likes it.

The handmade gift that I made that means the most to me was the Wolverine piggybank I painted for my dad. He is a superhero superfan! He knows everything there is to know about every superhero. As a Christmas gift I knew just what to get him! I went to the Clay Café on Commonwealth Avenue and painted him a Wolverine piggybank. My fine motor skills aren’t the best since I’m missing my corpus collosum so the paint job wasn’t really the most impressive but I did my best. Watching him open it and seeing the look on his face when he saw it was the highlight of my Christmas morning. It meant so much to me that he loved his gift.

What’s the best handmade gift someone gave you or you gave someone? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

