Children of Chapters


Hey blog world! I’m an avid reader so I quite enjoy going to Chapters. It’s a bookstore on Kenmount Road. A few times recently when waiting for appointments Mom dropped me off there for a few hours to read. I sit in one of the wicker chairs by the window in the kids section and read (usually an American Girl book. I finished the Julie series and on my next lengthy stint in Chapters plan on starting Rebecca). In doing this I’ve encountered some colorful characters. I thought I’d blog about them.

I love little kids but don’t like when they throw tantrums. During my last stint in Chapters on Friday I had a hard time concentrating on my book because of tantrum throwing youngsters. 3 or 4 year old Steven didn’t want to share the Thomas the Tank Engine toys with another little boy and threw a massive fit and later in the day another little boy threw a tantrum because he didn’t want to put his shoes on so he could get a cookie at Starbucks! It’s weird the things that small kids throw tantrums over! By far the worst one I saw was during my first long stay in Chapters a few weeks ago when a little boy desperately wanted a stuffed frog. He kicked, screamed and refused to leave! He had a massive case of the gimmies. I’m thankful to his mother for not giving in. That would have just made the child worse.

On a happier note some of the children I’ve met in Chapters were sweethearts. During my first long stay as I was sitting and reading my book there were two little girls sat down on the floor in front of me playing with a little house that had several doors and locks. One of them looked up at me and asked me where my kids were! She was probably looking for another playmate. I giggled and said that I was just a kid myself. Albeit I’m 17 I still feel like a kid at heart. Her mom and I chatted a bit and she asked me what I was going to do after High school. I told her I wanted to be a special education teacher. I asked the little girl what she wanted to be when she grew up and she said a mermaid! Aww! I found that adorable! As she was leaving she turned to me, waved and said “Bye girl!” That little girl was an absolute cuteness overload! Later that day a little girl named Stella came in with her Dad. I thought it was sweet that they were spending some daddy, daughter time together in Chapters. Stella is in a wheelchair and has cancer. Poor thing. She was dressed all in purple, my favorite color! I complimented her on how pretty she looked and she smiled! I was happy that I made her smile. I had a hard time concentrating on my book while she was there. Her father was reading her stories out loud and I was concentrating more on their books than my own! He was fun to listen to. Especially when he read from “The Book With No Pictures” by B.J. Novak. Due to the lack of pictures the reader has to say funny words out loud. Stella didn’t seem too keen on the book (she gave it a thumbs down) but I thought it was really funny! It was also funny when in one of the books her dad read to her the main character played a trick on his sibling. She said she was going to do that to her sisters LOL! Stella is a perfect example that people with special needs are just like everyone else. We have a mischievous nature, fashion sense,  opinions and thoughts and a love of reading just like you.

I’m not sure when it will be but I’m looking forward to spending hours in Chapters again sometime soon. It’s fun meeting so many interesting people and of course reading books too.

Leah

Leave a Reply

