My Birthday Party 2014


Hey blog world! I turned 17 on Thursday! I had my party last night. It was a lot of fun! Since I’m such a huge fan of Broadway musicals I decided that this year I’d have a Broadway theme dance party. I wanted all the guests to come dressed up as a character from a musical. I was going to be Elphaba from “Wicked” Elphaba but as I was browsing the witch costumes in the Halloween store out of the corner of my eye I spotted an adorable black flapper dress. My mind changed right then and there and I decided to be Velma Kelly from “Chicago” Velma instead. My parents didn’t want to dress up but I managed to talk them into it. They were Christine Daae Christine Daae and the Phantom of the Opera Phantom of the Opera. My Niece was Jan from “Grease” Jan.

When I arrived at the party there were a few people there waiting outside. I was glad to see my friends. I was happy they were able to come and celebrate with me. Especially my friend Samantha. She and I go way back. We had a book club under the slide at summer camp years and years ago! We went to the same Jr. High and High School too. She graduated last year and I missed her. I was really happy that she made it.

On the invitation I asked that people come in costume as a character from a musical. There would be prizes for the best costumes. Not everyone wore one but those who did looked amazing! I found it so hard chosing winners for the costume contest! Eventually prize time rolled around and I had to chose. I gave 3rd prize to my friend dressed as Fred Astaire Glen, 2nd prize to my friend dressed as Glinda from “Wicked” Laura and 1st prize to my friend dressed as a cat from “Cats” Katie.

Once again I hired my friend Heather to be my DJ. She played lots of great showtunes for us to dance to! “Love Is An Open Door” from “Frozen”, “Time Warp” from “Rocky Horror Picture Show” and “Bop To The Top” from “High School Musical”. She played some really pretty slow songs too like “Memory” from “Cats” and “All I Ask Of You” from “Phantom of the Opera”. She played songs that weren’t from musicals too like “All About That Bass” and “Wagon Wheel“. My friends and I all loved the songs that were played and had a great time dancing!

When it was time for pizza and cake I was happy to eat the pizza because it’s pizza! Who doesn’t like pizza? As for the cake I actually kind of didn’t want to eat it! The reason being it looked so firetrucking incredible! When I saw it for the first time yesterday afternoon I was floored! I couldn’t think of any words to say! I just stood there in awe looking at it with my jaw dropped! This is what it looks like Cale!!! Underneath it’s mesmerizing decoration is red velvet. My favorite kind of cake! It tasted really really yummy!

Soon it was time for presents. I was really pleased with everything I’d gotten. I got dozens of cards. I was really impressed because a lot of them were hand made. I love it when I get hand made cards. It means a lot more than a store bought one and it really shows that the sender cares because they took the time to draw a special card. I got loads of money in the cards! I know exactly what I’ll be spending some of that on. A new photo album to put my cards in (the one I have is full). I got dozens of gift cards too! With all this money and gift cards I can go on a huge shopping spree! I also got a 1000 piece jungle safari puzzle, a Best Buddies Christmas CD and a sock monkey. She has puzzle pieces all over her! I named her Annette. She’s really cute.

At the end of the night I was super exhausted from all the dancing. It was such a fun night and I’m glad that everyone who came enjoyed themselves. Thanks again to everyone for coming!

Leah

Leave a Reply

