Litterate For A Day


Hey blog world! Today’s daily post is “Litterate For A Day”

Someone or something you can’t communicate with through writing (a baby, a pet, an object) can understand every single word you write today, for one day only. What do you tell them?

One of my best friends through grades 10 and 11 was named Dominique. She was in the special needs classroom at my school. I’m not sure what exactly her special need was but I know it was servere. If she were able to read for a day this is what I’d tell her.

Dominique I can’t tell you how much I miss you! It’s so different at school without you. You brightened my day every day when you were here. Each time I’d see the teacher guiding you to your classroom a big smile would come across my face and I’d shout out in my mind “Dominique’s here!” Your laughter was infectious, your smile could light up a room and you gave the best hugs!

You made me proud of you at least once every day! I’ll never forget the conversation we had about our weekend plans. I was so proud that you started and carried out a conversation with me! I was also super proud the first day you said thank you to me. Heck, I was proud each time you used your manners! You’re a very mannerly girl and I’m (no surprise) very proud of you for that.

I loved your beautiful drawings. Though some may look at them and see just marker or crayon scribbles on paper I saw abstract art masterpieces! I thought it was so funny each time you would write “Poo” in your drawings! I guess that was perhaps your special way of signing them LOL! My drawing skills aren’t that great but I was happy to oblige each time you put the crayon in my hand and asked me to draw something. I really enjoyed drawing pictures with you.

You taught me how to find joy in such simple things! Playing in raw macaroni with you made me so happy! It felt really nice on my hands and hearing your laughter made me smile! Also everytime something ripped or fell you’d crack yourself up laughing and make me laugh too! It’s amazing how something that small can bring someone so much joy. Thank you Dominique for showing me that.

You are a very intelligent young woman. It was funny when you saw through me each time I tried giving you the flipside of a coloring sheet instead of a piece of paper because the teacher was out LOL! Also I was very impressed each time I’d point to a picture in a book and you’d tell me what it is! Your intelligence I’m sure will get you far in the world.

One of the things I really miss is your singing. Sure you didn’t know all the words to the songs that you’d sing but that didn’t matter to me! Hearing you sing me a piece of a song was so sweet.

I really mis you Dominique and am really hoping to see you tonight getting your diploma. As usual I’ll be so proud of you! Good luck in whatever life brings to you next sweetheart!

Leah

Leave a Reply

