By Heart


Hey blog world! Today’s daily post is titled “By Heart”

You’re asked to recite a poem (or song lyrics) from memory — what’s the first one that comes to mind? Does it have a special meaning, or is there another reason it has stayed, intact, in your mind?

There are several songs floating through my mind right now but one that I know all the words to and means a lot to me is “The Impossible” by Joe Nichols

My Dad chased monsters from the dark, checked underneath my bed. He could lift me with one arm way up over top his head. He could losten rusty bolts with a quick turn of his wrench. He pulled splinters from his hands, never even flinched. In 13 years I’d never seen him cry, but the day that Grandpa died I realized

Unsinkable ships sink, unbreakable walls break. Sometimes the things you think’ll never happen happen just like that. Unbendable steel bends if the fury of the wind is unstoppable. I’ve learned to never underestimate the impossible.

Then there was my Jr. year. Billy had a brand new car. It was late, the road was wet. I guess the turn was just too sharp. I walked away without a scratch, they brought the helicopter in. Billy couldn’t feel his legs, they said he’d never walk again. But Billy said he would and his Mom and Daddy prayed and the day we graduated he stood up to say.

Unsinkable ships sink, unbreakable walls break. Sometimes the things you think’ll never happen happen just like that. Unbendable steel bends if the fury of the wind is unstoppable. I’ve learned to never underestimate the impossible.

So don’t tell me that it’s over. Don’t give up on you and me. ‘Cause there’s no such thing as hopeless if you believe.

Unsinkable ships sink, unbreakable walls break. Sometimes the things you think’ll never happen happen just like that. Unbendable steel bends if the fury of the wind is unstoppable. I’ve learned to never underestimate the impossible.

I call this my Nan’s song. She never underestimated the impossible! She bet odds we all thought were impossible! She fought cancer three times (I think). When she was diagnosed with cancer the first time around we all thought she wouldn’t make it but she did! For a little while she was unable to walk and was in a wheelchair, her physiotherapist said she’d never walk again and she did! She made me and my family believe in the impossible. Nan was quite the inspiration to me. In 3 weeks time (Monday the 24th) it will be a year since her passing. I miss her dearly and always think of her.

Do you have a song or poem that you know off by heart that means something to you? Tell me what it is in the comments, or write about it in your blog if you have one!

Leave a Reply

