An Evening With Andrew Lloyd Webber


Hey blog world! For almost a year now (I started around October) I’ve been in the Best Buddies Best Buddies program. Best Buddies is a non profit organisation that pairs students (in my particular chapters case students at MIUN (Memorial University of Newfoundland)) with individuals with special needs and they hang out together and form a friendship. Tonight me and my Best Buddy Allison went out to see a concert. We saw An Evening With Andrew Lloyd Webber at the Arts and Culture Centre. Staged by Theatre St. John’s this concert was a tribute to Andrew Lloyd Webber who for those of you who don’t know is my favorite musical composer!

To begin the night there was a silent auction. Allison and I looked around at the different items to bid on. She didn’t bid anything but I placed a low bid on a quadruple threat lesson package. An hour piano lesson with Evan Smith, an hour acting lesson with Keith Pike, an hour voice lesson with Kelly-Ann Evans and an hour dance lesson (I forget who that’s with.) I thought it would be fun to do if I won so I bid but not much because I didn’t want to use too much of my money. In the end I didn’t win. Oh well!

Later when the show began the opening number was a “Jesus Christ Superstar” medley. Darrin Martin, Keith Pike, Krystin Pellerin and Kelly-Ann Evans all contributed into it. All the songs sounded awesome! Each of the singers had such amazing voices! I loved it. “Superstar” was my favorite part of the medley. After the medley the practically perfect Erin Winsor performed “Buenos Aires” from “Evita”. As usual her astounding voice blew me away! I loved every minute of her performance!

Next up was the performer I was looking most forward to. Peter Halley Peter Halley!!! He sang “All I Ask Of You” from “Phantom Of The Opera” with Kiersten Noel. It was absolutely beautiful! So much so that I cried! Kiersten’s voice is very pretty and she really amazed me with all the high notes she hit. Peter as I’ve said countless times has an amazing singing voice as well. They blended very well together. After that song Peter stayed out on stage and sang “Any Dream Will Do” from “Joseph and the Amazing Technicolor Dreamcoat”. It made my heart happy! I had a big grin on my face and was elated to say the least. It’s my favorite song from Joseph. It makes me so happy! When Peter brought out Nicholas Keough the incredible 12 year old local actor who in my opinion should be whisked off to Broadway immediately it got even better! I was so happy that I cried again! Nicolas as usual took my breath away with his beautiful singing. Meghan Herder who played Winnifred in Theatre St. John’s production of “Mary Poppins” performed “Tell Me On A Sunday” the titular song from the musical of the same name. She has a very pretty voice and I really enjoyed her performance. The song sounded very pretty.

To end the first act was some songs from “Sound Of Music”. I’m not entirely sure but I think it was Julia Halfyard that sang “Sound of Music” and “Lonely Goatherd“. She sounded beautiful! I was especially impressed with her yodelling skills in “Lonely Goatherd”. Evan Smith sang “My Favorite Things“. He jazzed it up! That was awesome!

Act two started with performances by Children. Nicolas Keough, Ian Carroll, Sarah Drover and there was one more girl but I can’t remember what her name is. Sarah played Jane in “Mary Poppins”. For such a young girl she has an incredible voice! She sang “No Matter What” from “Whistle Down The Wind”. I loved it! After her was Ian and Nicolas singing “I Won’t Grow Up” from “Peter Pan”. Cuteness overload! It was adorable! Both of them were very talented and did an excellent job of singing. I was also very impressed by the other girl whose name I have unfortunately forgotten. She sang “Can You Feel The Love Tonight“. It was marvellous. She had an amazing voice!

My favorite performance of act two was Kiersten Noel’s performance of “Think Of Me” from “Phantom of the Opera”. That song has a lot of meaning to me. On November 24th of this year my Grandma passed away. This was the song I sang at her funeral. Hearing Kiersten sing it was very emotional. I was trying not to cry! It sounded so pretty when she sang it! After this song Jonathan Monro sang “Music of the Night” He’s got a very nice voice and I thought he did an excellent job of singing the song.

Allison’s favorite part was the “Wizard of OZ” bit of the show. Kelly-Ann Evans did  a wonderful job of singing “Over The Rainbow”. She also did “Ding Dong the Witch Is Dead“. She turned it into a rock song! I thought that was cool!

I also really enjoyed Krystin Pellerin’s performance of “Another Suitcase in Another Hall” from “Evita”. That’s my favorite song from “Evita” and I was hoping someone would sing it tonight! I was very happy when Krystin did! I thought it sounded great! I also really liked it when Justin Nurse performed “Close Every Door” He had an astounding voice!

To end the show Kiersten, Meghan and Kelly-Ann did an Andrew Lloyd Webber love trio. Kelly-Ann sang “I Don’t Know How To Love Him” from “Jesus Christ Superstar”, Meghan sang “Unexpected Song” from “Song and Dance” and I’m not entirely sure the name of the song Kiersten sang. Whatever it was it was pretty. As were the other two songs. I was slightly disappointed that the show was over and they hadn’t sung anything from “Cats” or “King Herod’s Song” from “Jesus Christ Superstar”. Too bad. When they did their bows I gave the cast a well deserved standing ovation! They deserved it!

Once the lights were up and it was time to go Allison and I looked around in the main part of the Arts and Culture Centre to see if any of the performers would come out so I could get pictures with and talk to them. I congratulated Meghan on a job well done and got a picture with her 031 (I do not know how to rotate photos on my blog so please put up with having to slightly turn your head.) I also got to speak with Nicolas! I told him how much I loved his performance and how I fangirled for at least an hour when he commented on my blog post LOL! We got our picture together too 032. I also spoke and got a picture with Kiersten 033. She said she saw me in the front row singing along! I was glad she noticed. I talked with Darrin for a while as well. When I went up to him and said hello he gave me a hug and a kiss on the cheek! That was sweet. We talked for a while about school and my grades and such, I introduced him to Allison, he introduced me to his Wife and we talked a bit about my blog! He said he loved it! I was glad he did. He called it a very intense play by play. Cool! We got a picture together as well. 034.

I had a wonderful time tonight and will not soon forget it! Were you at the show tonight? What did you think of it? Tell me (on a Sunday please LOL) in the comments!

LEah

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “An Evening With Andrew Lloyd Webber

  1. I was not at the show Leah but I thoroughly enjoyed your blog. I am sorry to have missed this show but I was on the overnight flight to England.thank you for the detailed account of the performance and congratulations on your job with Spirit of Newfoundland.

  2. Pingback: Bowring Park’s 100th | Aspie Diaries

  3. Pingback: Musical Marker | Aspie Diaries

  4. Pingback: 2014 Memories | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

