Gotta Get Another Scoop


Hey blog world! Last night I saw Spirit of Newfoundland’s production of “ABBA: Gotta Get The Scoop”. This was my 2nd time seeing this show. I’d seen this show before with my parents 3 years ago when they first did it. That was the night I met Peter Halley Peter Halley!!! I can still remember every vivid detail of that night! Even what I was wearing LOL! It was one of the best of my life. Peter told the audience that there was an ABBA song that the girls sang that was from the perspective of two men. He asked the audience if they knew what it was. I was fairly new to dinner theatre (this was my 3rd time seeing a Spirit show) so I didn’t quite know the propper etiquette. I assumed you were supposed to raise your hand to answer the question so I did. Peter was astounded by my politeness! He said that he felt like he was back in his classroom!

Flash forward back to now a while ago I was on Spirit’s website and noticed that they had this show on their calendar again. I just had to go back and see it a 2nd time! I was so excited and happy when I got there! Especially because I helped with this show! I retyped the script for Peter. He gave me an audio recording and I listened to it and typed out what was said. Due to listening to the audio recording so many times I have it memorized LOL! I couldn’t wait to see this show again! This time instead of going with both my parents my Mom went with me and one of my best friends Laura came too. This was her 2nd time seeing a Spirit show. She was just as excited as I was to be there! I also ran into a friend of mine while there. Erin Winsor. She played Mary Poppins in Theatre St John’s production of “Mary Poppins” and Eponine in Atlantic Light Theatre’s “Les Misérables”. It was nice to get to see her.

The appetizer was a salad. I’m not sure exactly what it was called. All I know is that it had some kind of nut, spinach, strawberries and a raspberry vinaigrette. The vinaigrette was ok but not something I’d eat again. All the rest of the salad (accept the nuts) was good! I went into the hallway for a moment after eating and talked to Keith Power (one of the cast members of the show.) He had a birthday Good Friday but celebrated last night. I decided to make him a card. A few months ago he played the orange bad idea bear in Best Kind Productions “Avenue Q” so I decided to put the bad idea bears in his card and make a keychain with their picture on it using shrinky dinks. He loved it! I was glad that he did. He even said he’d show it to his co-star Adena Cahill (she was the pink bad idea bear!) That made me feel awesome!

Later it was main course time. We had the choice of either salmon or chicken. Everyone at my table ordered the chicken. It was covered in some sort of mustard sauce. Honey dijon I think but I’m not entirely sure. Whatever it was it was good! I really enjoyed the chicken. It came with broccoli, turnip, carrott and potatoes. The turnip wasn’t that great but I enjoyed all the rest of the vegetables. After eating Laura and I popped into the Screech room to talk to Kathie Hicks (the CEO of Spirit). As I turned to go in I nearly walked into Shelley Neville! I didn’t even realize it was her until she said hi LOL! It was nice to get to see her before the show. We went into the Screech room and I introduced Laura to Kathie and I spoke with her and got a hug! That was great. As we turned to enter the bar to leave (the bar and Screech room are connected. We figured we’d walk out through the bar to return to our table) we saw Peter! I was hoping to get to see him before the show! I was glad I got to! Me and Laura talked to him a while. I even got to hug him! I was on cloud 9! I love Peter’s hugs! After speaking with Peter we headed back to our table. It was almost showtime!

We were seated right next to the lighting booth where all the strobe lights and such were controled. They were pretty good seats. We could see the stage well from where we were sitting. When the lights dimmed I got so excited! I couldn’t wait for the show to start! The cast of this show was different from the last time I saw it 3 years ago. Back then it was Peter Halley, Shelley Neville, Darrin Martin and Sabrina Roberts. This time Peter and Shelley were still in it but in place of Darrin and Sabrina were Keith Power and Janet Cull. When the band began to play a little medley of ABBA songs I went crazy dancing! Laura did too! It was fun! After that medley the first act began. Since I have the show memorized I was (silently) talking along with some of the lines! I even danced along to “Money Money Money” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ETxmCCsMoD0. I loved the first scene of the show! It was really funny! It felt so amazing to watch them performing the script I retyped. In this scene 4 journalists are not doing very well with their newspaper. Their jobs are pretty much on the line so they have to shape up. They decide to write about ABBA to increase their readership. In the beginning of the scene they talked about the articles they’d written for the paper. I thought they were funny!

“Leo Puddister gets his eyebrows whippersnipped”

“Lady Gaga goes Gaga for Danny Williams”

A week ago I gave Peter a mini heart attack when I accidentaly got mixed up and made him think that the show was last Saturday. He returned the favor tonight by accidentaly giving me a heart attack! Shelley’s character was always saying I love this, I love that etc. Peter got fed up with it and yelled “SHUT UP!” And stomped his foot. I have sensory issues with my ears and sudden loud noises startle me. When Peter yelled and stomped I got a fright and jumped! It took me a few minutes to calm myself down from my little heart attack he’d just given me. They made a few slight adjustments to the script to I guess keep up with the times. Janet’s character wrote about the death of Whitney Houston but in the original show that character wrote about Liz Taylor being married for the 10th time. I thought it was funny how Janet would bawl every time Peter said “Whitney Houston” LOL! Speaking of Janet this was my first time seeing her act. I was very impressed by her acting skills. Keith is a great actor as well. They both did marvellous jobs in their roles. Peter and Shelley were of course marvellous too. As I said they were in the original cast of the show and once again they did amazing (as usual!) I loved it when they sang “Waterloo” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Sj_9CiNkkn4. Peter pointed at me during this song!!! That made me feel amazing! I also loved hearing them sing “Mama Mia” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=unfzfe8f9NI. Laura and I danced and sang along! It was fun! Later the reporters came back a 2nd time and talked about the scoops they’d gotten on ABBA (a scoop is news.) I thought it was funny when Shelley said the only time she ran was when someone was running behind her with a cleaver LOL! After this 2nd scene they sang “Take A Chance On Me” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-crgQGdpZR0. It sounded great!

Later in the first act of the show Peter and Keith did a tribute to the men of ABBA (Benny and Bjorn). They told us how Bjorn was once in a group called the “Hootenany singers” and they were a folk cover band. One of the songs they covered was “This Little Light Of Mine” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QCN893hzueQ. I couldn’t resist putting up my hand in praise during this song! When they were talking about Benny and his cover band (whose name I’ve forgotten) Keith did a bit of 2 Jerry Lee Lewis songs “Whole Lotta Shakin’ Goin’ On” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8yRdDnrB5kM and “Great Balls Of Fire” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7IjgZGhHrYY. I loved dancing and shaking to those songs! Then Shelley and Janet did a tribute to the girls of ABBA (Anni-Frid and Agnetta). They sang some very pretty songs. Janet sang “I Don’t Know How To Love Him” from “Jesus Christ Superstar” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lS2nX4fuzqc. Anni-Frid had a stint as Mary Magdalene in that musical. When Janet sang I thought it was beautiful! They also did “The Sound Of Silence” (that’s one of the songs Anni-Frid’s cover band did) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4zLfCnGVeL4. I liked it. It sounded very pretty.

After the first act was done it was time for desert. Screech cake. Spirit of Newfoundland makes absolutely delicious Screech cake! I hadn’t had it since last Christmas so I was happy to get to enjoy a piece of it again. As was Laura. She devoured hers quite quickly! She absoultely loves it! I spoke with the cast briefly in the hallway after eating my cake. It was nice to get to talk to them again before the 2nd act.

The 2nd act was lots of fun! When he came out on stage Peter punched the air and kicked as Boomer Stamp banged on the drums. He asked if anyone wanted to try it and I did. It was awesome! I felt great after it! I actually had a little high from doing it! I felt great about myself and I felt happy! I think I’m going to do that in front of the mirror every day now LOL! I highly reccommend doing this. Go ahead right now. I’ll wait! Here’s a drum sound effect http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=oOl-dPJqnnM. Back? Great! My favorite part of the 2nd act was definately the misheard song lyrics part! I didn’t quite understand Shelley’s misheard lyric from “Thank You For The Music” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0dcbw4IEY5w but I loved the misheard lyrics Peter sang from “Mama Mia” (“Diarrhea”) and “Chiquitita” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dVnMDYSaYA4 (“Take your teeth out tell me what’s wrong. You can have your corn tomorrow.) I don’t think I’ll ever sing the right words again LOL! I also loved the parody of “Fernando” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQsjAbZDx-4 that Shelley sang. It doubled as a cautionary tale as well. She meets up in Gambo (that’s a place in Newfoundland) with someone she met on the internet and he invites her to his house and he puts something in her beer and I’m not sure what happened next but she wound up with a son! I thought it was a really funny parody. Boomer Stamp wrote it. He writes a lot of parodies for Spirit of Newfoundland. He’s great at it!

The third and final scene with the journalists was funny. Peter was all excited because Mr. Herder (their boss) loved the articles about ABBA and the readership went through the roof and as a reward they were going to Hawaii but everyone else was crying because Bjorn and Agnetta divorced LOL! After their scene they sang “The Winner Takes It All”. I was astounded! It sounded incredible! Shelley sang it wonderfully and the rest of the cast backed her up very well. To end the show they did “Dancing Queen” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xFrGuyw1V8s. That’s one of my favorite ABBA songs and Laura and I had an absolute blast dancing and singing along to it! After that as they always do they sang “Spirit of Newfoundland”. It’s a beautiful song and I love hearing it at the end of each show. When it was done Keith and Peter gave shout outs to people in the audience. I was hoping Peter would mention my name! I waited and waited for it and he didn’t say anything. It seemed like he wasn’t going to. Just as they were about to sing the ode to Newfoundland he acknowledged me! He told the audience how I retyped the script for the show and that I was going to work there during the summer! I don’t know who she was but some woman at a table in the back shouted “WAY TO GO LEAH!” I think. I may have paraphrased.

After the show I stuck around for a while. I wanted to get pictures with the cast. Also I had something for Peter to sign. I go to school with a girl with downs syndrome and she LOVES Peter! She always asks about him and his horses and whenever his name gets mentioned her eyes will bug out, her jaw will drop, she’ll jump up and down, flail her arms and squeal! Also she thinks he’s cute! She turns 19 this month and since she has an absolute adoration for Peter I thought I’d get her a copy of Spirit of Newfoundland’s CD “Even Seagulls Dream” as a birthday gift and get him to sign it for her. Peter was very sweet (as usual) and said that the CD would be his gift to her. Knowing it’s from him I bet she’s going to love it even more! I can already see her face! I’m excited to give it to her! After he signed her CD we got a picture together 2014 Spirit ABBA 017. Then I talked to Janet for a bit and got a picture with her too 2014 Spirit ABBA 018. Then I got one with Keith 2014 Spirit ABBA 019 and one with Shelley 2014 Spirit ABBA 021. After getting these pictures I talked with Peter a bit more. He showed me pictures and videos of his Newfoundland ponies Max and Jessie and his new puppy Lucy. They were adorable! I told him how I loved to ride horses and how several years ago I had an accident. I was nervous to get back on but I did! After talking with him it was time to go. I gave him another hug and said goodbye. Dad drove us to the Masonic Temple and was supposed to pick us up after the show. He wasn’t there yet so we went back inside and waited a while. Mom and I talked to Janet about her son and I told her about my Niece. I don’t know how long we were talking to Janet but Dad still wasn’t there by the time our conversation was done! It took him a while but eventually he did get there and we went home. Thank you for the music Peter, Keith, Janet and Shelley. I had an incredible time at the show. It was even better the 2nd time around! Have you seen “ABBA: Gotta Get The Scoop”? What did you think of the show? Tell me in the comments!

4 thoughts on “Gotta Get Another Scoop

  1. Pingback: Duet Again | Aspie Diaries

  2. Pingback: Every Spirit Show I’ve seen | Aspie Diaries

  3. Pingback: 20 Years of Spirit | Aspie Diaries

  4. Pingback: The Young and the Rest Of Us | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

