We Built This City


Hey blog world! Today’s daily post is “We Built This City” What do you love most about the city / town / place that you live in? What do you like the least about it? If you were mayor, what would be the most important problem you’d tackle? How would you tackle it? I live in Newfoundland and love it here! One of the things I love most is all the opportunities for the performing arts that we have here. We have beautiful venues for the arts such as the arts and culture centre, LSPU hall and Masonic Temple, musical theatre summer camps (i.e “Newfoundland to Broadway” and “Camp Hollywood” just to name a few) so NL’s youth can get a chance to experience it, productions of broadway calibre (my favorite musicals I’ve seen on stage here in NL were “Mary Poppins”, “Annie”, “Les Miserables” (all at the ACC) and “Avenue Q” (at the LSPU hall), incredible local performers of all ages like 12 year old dynamo Nicholas Keough and adult dynamo’s Peter Halley Peter Halley and Shelley Neville Shelley. Newfoundland is such an amazing place to experience musical theatre! If you have not yet seen one of our productions go see one! I’m also very happy with all the different programs and such we have for people with challenging needs. Myself being part of that community I’m glad there are so many things for us here in NL. Rainbow riders (therapeutic horseback riding), special olympics, the attendant pass (a pass for people with special needs (accepted in places like cineplex, the aquarena and the arts and culture centre) that allows the attendant of a person with special needs to accompany the person with special needs into events free of charge), easter seals, occupational therapy and my list could go on and on. I’m glad the province has all these things for us! Something I don’t like however about NL is all our firetrucking pot holes!!! I don’t drive yet but they still get on my nerves. I hate going on bumpy car rides caused by all our pot holes! I wish they could get filled in! If I were mayor I would start by doing that. Also I would implement new menu options for schools. What we have now is grease, fat and unhealthiness like nuggets, taters and pizza. I’d get rid of the unhealthy menu items such as those and put in healthier options for our students. What do you like and not like about where you live? Also if you were mayor what would you change about where you live? Tell me in the comments!

3 thoughts on “We Built This City

  1. Thank you for the mention, I’m very flattered! I’m glad that you enjoyed the shows (Mary Poppins and Les Mis)! This is a great blog, I love it and it’s amazing!

    -Nicolas Keough

    • OMG!!! You have no idea how excited I am right now reading your comment! My night has just been made! I’m very glad you like my blog. You’re such an incredible person Nicolas and will definately go very far in life! Keep up the great work!

      Leah

Leave a Reply

