“Saving Mr. Banks”


Hey blog world! I went to the movies with my friend Emma today. We were originally supposed to see the new Disney movie “Frozen”. Unfortunately when we arrived at the theatre and got into the ticket line I looked up at the screen that showed all the movie times and noticed that the 2:20 showing of “Frozen” we were supposed to see was sold out. We were then faced with the decision of which movie to see instead. Emma suggeseted seeing the new Hobbit movie “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug” but I’m not into the Lord of the Rings or the Hobbit movies. It took us a few minutes but we finally decided upon seeing “Saving Mr. Banks” which is also a Disney movie. When it came time to see the movie we got our snacks then headed towards the theatre. The employee pointed us in the right direction but by mistake we accidentaly went into the wrong theatre. When we got inside there were barely any seats! I didn’t think that many people were seeing “Saving Mr. Banks” so I was a bit confused. Me and Emma found 2 seats in the front of the theatre. We sat down and the previews were rolling. We watched the last preview, saw the little ad from Cineplex hoping we’ll enjoy the film then it began. I was confused by this because it wasn’t supposed to start til 4:40 and it was 4:30. It started 10 minutese early! What I saw looked nothing like what I expected of “Saving Mr. Banks”. That really set me off. I whispered to Emma “This looks like “Catching Fire”. I think we’re in the wrong movie!” We went outside and looked and sure enough we were in “Catching Fire” and “Saving Mr. Banks” was in the theatre across the hall. We scrambled inside hoping not to have missed anything and thankfully we didn’t. The pre show was still on! When the movie started I was very impressed. It was an amazing movie! It’s the true story of the author of the “Mary Poppins” books P.L Travers and how her books turned into a movie. At times it was funny, other times it was a tad sad, also it was quite heartwarming as well. There were scenes in the film where P.L had flashbacks to her childhood and I thought those were beautiful. One of my favorite parts in the movie was when the songwriters for the film played “Lets Go Fly A Kite” and P.L danced with one of the people who was working on the film. It made me happy inside! When the movie was over I had difficulty finding words to describe how much I liked the movie. All I could think of was “Wow!” It was definately the best movie I’d seen this year! I highly reccommend seeing it. Have you seen it yet? What did you think of it? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

