Spirit Christmas Luncheon


Hey blog world! I just got home from seeing Spirit of Newfoundland’s Christmas luncheon. My Mom, Grandpa and I went. I can’t quite remember the last time I went out and saw a concert with my Grandpa so it was nice to get out with him today. We got to the Masonic Temple quite early. So early in fact that we were the first guests there! It was only us and a bunch of the employees. I said to Mom “We’re really early! I wonder if Peter, Shelley and Janet (the performers who were going to be in the show) are even here yet?” Kathie Hicks (the CEO of Spirit) told me that unfortunately Peter and Shelley wouldn’t be singing today. I was a bit disappointed but I love Janet Cull’s singing so I was still quite happy that I’d get to hear her. Kathie told us to have a seat in the Screech Room (a room full of Purity products, Screech and Screech memorabilia and history where you can sit and have a drink before the show) and she’d get us something to drink. By the time we had finished our drinks it was time to head in and sit down for the meal. Usually Spirit of Newfoundland has a menu but this time was different. It was a buffet. For the appetizer there was a salad bar, a variety of breads and turkey soup. I took a few pieces of bread, some pasta salad and I made my own little salad as well with tomatoes, parmesan cheese and feta cheese. I thought the pasta salad tasted very good. As did the salad I put together. I think I overdid it on the parmesan though LOL! A while after eating my salad I looked out into the hallway and saw the back of someone’s head. It looked very familiar to me. I wasn’t entirely sure if it was him but I was at least 50% sure that it was Peter Halley Peter Halley(the artistic director of Spirit of Newfoundland who was supposed to be in the show but as I said earlier wasn’t.) I went out to look and sure enough in the  Screech Room there he was. A huge smile came across my face! I went back to my table and got the gift I had for him then went to see him in the Screech Room to give it to him. I handed him the box I had put it in and he thought it was sweet how I had written “Merry Christmas Peter” on it. He then opened it and took out the ornament I made for him and looked at it. He loved it! I was so glad he did! We then talked for a bit. He said that as a Christmas gift to me he’d see if he could adjust my bill. I thought that was a very nice thing for him to do. I then went back to my table and sat down. Pretty soon it was time for the main course. We had a choice of a cod bake or stuffed chicken. I’ve had the stuffed chicken at Spirit several times and always enjoy it so that’s what I ordered. As usual I loved it! It tasted really good. It came with mashed carrots, broccoli and mashed potatoes. I found the carrot was quite peppery. I didn’t really like it. I enjoyed the mashed potatoes and broccoli though. During the meal I saw Janet Cull (the woman performing in the show) out in the hallway and I had something for her as well so I went out and gave it to her. I had a Christmas card and tree ornament for her. I was very happy that she liked them. She gave me a hug as well. I liked getting a hug from her. Later on the show began. Janet is a very cool person. She has an amazing sense of fashion and astounding jazzy vocals. I love watching her perform. She sang lots of great songs like “Rocking Around The Christmas Tree” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bnIqLlBwzrc and “Mary’s Boy Child” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7-4GC828rM. She also sang “When A Child Is Born” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RGMky4tVN7c. It’s such a pretty song and Janet did an absolutely beautiful job of singing it! I thought that it was really cute when she got her son Jack (I’m not sure how old he is but he looks about 5 or 6) up to sing “Jingle Bells” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0uFQnYsDr20 with her. Janet said that if we had any requests to just shout them out. I put my hand up and she called on me and I asked if she could sing “Where Are You Christmas” by Faith Hill http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nmGSHZYZ74c and she didn’t know that one. I then asked for “Grown Up Christmas List” by Amy Grant http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmF2rsDHOZc and she didn’t know that one either! Finally I tried asking for “The Mummers Song” by Simani http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E86bcriRtW8. She didn’t know it very well so she asked me to come up and help. I was beyond thrilled that I was invited up on stage to sing! The keyboardist found the right key for me and I sung. I was having so much fun! Peter came in as I was singing and he had an adorable look of surprise on his face. I waved at him and smiled. When I got to “There’s only one there that I thinks that I know” I pointed at Peter and he pulled his hat down and pretended to be a mummer. He was quite silly! He continued to pretend to be a mummer throughout the rest of the song. I loved it. When I was done everyone clapped. It made me feel awesome! I took a bow and then got another hug from Janet. I came down off the stage and Peter told me that I did great! He’s my idol. I have a very special place in my heart for him. Hearing him tell me I did a good job made me feel really special. I had a ginormous grin on my face from the fun I just had and the applause and compliments I’d just received. Later on a waitress stopped by my table and handed me a Screech cake and rum sauce wrapped up with a note and a pretty fake poinsettia 180. It was a special gift from Peter since he couldn’t adjust the bill since Mom had already paid. I read the note he had written and it was beautiful. I thought it was very kind of him to do this for me. I was so full of happiness from this and from being up on stage. So much so that I cried happy tears. After calming down and drying my happy tears I tried to have a bit of desert. I was absolutely full from everything else though. I had a peanut butter ball. It was yummy! After a few more songs the show was unfortunately over. I had an incredible time and thought that the show was amazing! I went over to Janet who was still up on stage and we got a picture together 179. Then I said goodbye and it was time to go. As I was leaving a lady stopped me and told me that she really enjoyed my singing and that I should consider a career in music! It made me feel great hearing that. I then went into the bar and gave Kathie the Christmas card that I had for Shelley hoping that she would be able to give it to her for me. She said she would. I hope that when she gets it she likes it! I had an unforgettable day at Spirit of Newfoundland today and will definitely never forget it! Have you ever been to a Spirit of Newfoundland show? Did you enjoy yourself? Tell me in the comments!

One thought on “Spirit Christmas Luncheon

  1. Pingback: Every Spirit Show I’ve seen | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

