“Christmas Around The World”


Hey blog world! I just got home from my Birthday supper. It’s a tradition in my family to go out to eat when it’s someone’s Birthday. This year for my Birthday supper I wanted to do something a little bit different. I chose to go to a Spirit of Newfoundland show to celebrate my (belated) Birthday (we couldn’t go out on the night of my Birthday because I had rhythmic gymnastics so we went out tonight instead.) Mom wasn’t able to go so Dad went with me. Also I invited my 2 best friends Laura and Emma (I usually don’t use first names but I asked the girls and they’re ok with it.) I was super excited to see the show tonight! I was also very excited for Laura and Emma because it was their very first Spirit of Newfoundland show! I just knew the girls and I were going to have a blast tonight! When we arrived at the Temple I met up with Laura and Emma and we sat down together and chatted as we waited for the doors to open. Around the time the doors opened I noticed there was a big white billboard that told everyone where they would be seated. I read down through the names the reservations were under and I noticed that one said “Peter”. “Hmm?” I thought. Could it be the Peter I was thinking of? Peter Halley Peter Halley who I (as I’m sure you frequent readers already know) have an immense crush on? I wasn’t sure because I knew that he was in one of the casts of the show (the show is double cast so it’s not the same group of people on each night.) I began thinking to myself how neat it would be if that really was him! After finding out where we were to be seated we went inside, found our table and sat down. The very first thing that I did was look at the program to see if Peter would be in tonight’s show. I was disappointed when I found out he wouldn’t be. I was really hoping he would be! Although I had heard a few members of the cast of the show sing before and they’re amazing so I knew it would still be a great show! Tonight’s cast was Dana Parsons (who I got to see perform as Lucy T. S**t from “Avenue Q”), Keith Power (who was also in “Avenue Q” as one of the Bad Idea Bears (I do believe he was the Orange one), Sandra Sandoval (who I saw play the maid in “Mary Poppins”) and Michael Power (who I had never heard before.) I got quite the pleasant surprise later on as I was talking with the girls. I can’t quite remember what it was but I was saying something about Peter and Dad pointed across the room and said “Is that him?” I look over and there he was! I grabbed my purse and went over to him right away. I said hello and gave him a Christmas card that I’d made for him. He really liked it! I was glad that he did. I also mentioned that I was here celebrating my Birthday and he wished me a happy Birthday. That was sweet. Then Laura and Emma came over and introduced themselves and spoke with Peter. Peter was kind enough to allow the girls to get half off their tickets. That was also very sweet of him! As I told Laura later in the night Peter is a teddy bear in more ways than one! He’s as sweet, huggable and cute as one! Later on the appetizer came. It was a carrot soup with a garlic cream aoli. I had never had a carrot soup (or a garlic cream aoli) before so I wasn’t sure how it would taste. I like trying new things though so I gave it a go. I wasn’t very fond of it. Neither were Laura and Emma. After our appetizer I saw Sheila Williams (a frequent performer in Spirit of Newfoundland shows (who was also in this show but wasn’t in tonight’s cast)) and Peter in the Screech Room so I got my purse and me and the girls went in to say hello. It was nice to see Sheila. I’m very fond of her. She’s really funny. We talked and she hugged me and I gave her a Christmas card as well. She also really liked it (even though her candy cane was a bit smashed up since it was in my purse.) I was glad she did. Then we sat back down at our table. Janet Cull (who I job shadowed) came up to us and said hello. I had no idea she was there! It was a pleasant surprise to see her. Then our main course came. I had the apricot glazed pork roast. It came with mashed carrots, mashed potato and broccoli. I thought the apricot glaze was very nice. As was the pork roast. The vegetables were very good as well. I wasn’t too fond of the mashed carrots though. I’m a whole carrot person. I don’t like them as much when they’re mashed. Shortly after the meal the show began. Mrs Clause (Sandra Sandoval) was sitting up at her desk reading and responding to the Children’s letters to Santa. She then got a phone call from her friend during which she said that she was thinking of leaving Santa (insert dramatic music here!) She did all the work and he was gaining a lot of weight so she thought about leaving him and going out with the Easter Bunny. After her little scene the cast of the show came out on stage and sang an original song (I think it was an original) about Christmas around the world. They then talked about Christmas traditions from around the world. When they were talking about Japan they said that there was a restaurant you’d have to make reservations at days in advance if you wanted to eat there for Christmas dinner. They asked the audience what it was and my hand shot right up! I said K.F.C and I was right! Then they sang a parody of Elvis’s “Kentucky Rain” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YU2U3QAUGak about KFC. I thought it was really funny! They also sang some Christmas songs from around the world like “Mele Kalikimaka” from Hawaii http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hEvGKUXW0iI, “Feliz Navidad” from Mexico http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rOPZoX6ZSnE (they pretended to rollerskate during this song (since in Mexico people rollerskate to mass). I thought that was really cool!) They even threw in the Snook parody of that song “Police Got My Car” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WakGzth9bqw. I laughed so hard when they sang that! They also sang “The Hat I Got For Christmas Is Too Big” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EV_PPtfTzXg. That’s one of my favorite Christmas songs! I loved hearing it! Also they talked about very popular toys from the different decades. They were surprised when they asked what toy’s name came from the Danish word for “Play Well” and I said Lego. I have friends who are half Danish so that’s how I knew the answer. As they were going through these toys I was surprised not to see Furbies anywhere on the list. Other toys that they talked about were yoyo’s, Zhu Zhu pets and Cabbage Patch Kids. Later in the show Dana, Michael and Keith came out dressed in heavy winter coats, hats and scarves and were a bunch of Townies outside the Basilica. They were so funny! They even had fake cigarettes with them. Michael blew a lot of smoke rings. That was awesome! Sonny and Cher even made an appearance! Kenny and Dolly did too. I thought Dana’s Cher was spot on! As was Sandra’s Dolly. I loved hearing Dana and Keith sing “I Got You Babe” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ylGrQVL774k. I also really enjoyed Sandra’s performance of “Coat Of Many Colors” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w_-YbWHs6DE. It sounded amazing! I have to applaud Michael for a job very well done as Kenny Rogers. He wore a stocking on his face (just like Peter did when he was Kenny in “Go Duet Yourself” Go Duet Yourself 001.) I can’t imagine how hard it must be singing with that thing over your face. He did an awesome job though! I loved the part at the end of their scene when Dolly took something (I don’t know what it was) and popped Cher’s bussoms LOL! After that it was time for the intermission. I dropped by Peter’s table (I noticed during the show that he was seated at a table not too far from mine! It was cool to see Peter as part of the audience for a change) and spoke with him a bit more. I told him about the incredible Spirit of Newfoundland Birthday cake that was baked for me in school Spirit cake. He thought that it was fantastic! Later it was time for desert. It was a rum cake. Drizzled on the plate were different things I could dip the cake in. Carmel, chocolate, whipped cream and strawberry sauce. I thought the rum cake was delicious! I also really liked the various items to dip the cake in. I’m not entirely sure about Emma but I know Laura really enjoyed the rum cake as well! Then it was time for the 2nd half of the show. They did a VOCM Nightline sketch. I thought it was really funny. I can’t remember her name but the first caller (played by Dana) was hillarious! Also they did monologues about Christmas reflections. I thought the first one was really sweet. I liked the one after that as well. Dana and Michael talked about being home for Christmas and Dana sang “I’ll Be Home For Christmas” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VFGfCn5rKIM. It was beautiful! Laura and I put our arms around eachother and swayed to the music. They also had a vegas comedian (Keith) come out and tell some jokes. A few of them I didn’t get but most of them I did. He was funny! They also did a countdown of Billboard’s top 10 Christmas songs. I wasn’t surprised to see “Happy Xmas (War Is Over)” by John Lennon http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yN4Uu0OlmTg or Nat King Cole’s “The Christmas Song” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=I5s8h2d1RK8 on the list but I was very surprised (and petrified) to find that “Mistletoe” by Justin Bieber http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LUjn3RpkcKY made the #2 spot! I hate that song and hate Bieber! At lesat I got quite the laugh at Keith impersonating him and singing the song Christmas Around The World 004. #1 was “All I Want For Christmas Is You” by Mariah Carey http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yXQViqx6GMY. Dana played Mariah  and she did an excellent job! I had so much fun singing along and dancing to the song in my seat. Also just for a bit of fun I don’t know if he noticed (I think he did because I saw him smile at me) but a few times when I sang the line “All I want for Christmas is you” I turned and pointed at Peter! Later two of the Townies (Michael and Keith) came back and one of them (Michael) talked about singing in the choir next year. The other one wasn’t so sure. When he sang “Go Tell It On The Mountain” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Y_3psWHTW6Y I was floored! He sounded absolutely incredible! Later when the cast sang “When A Child Is Born” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RGMky4tVN7c I was fighting the urge to throw my hand up in praise. It was a beautiful song and I wanted to but I was afraid of how weird I would look with my hand in the air like that. They also sang “Mary’s Boy Child” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=C7-4GC828rM. Me and Laura danced in our seats and sang along with that one as well. Mrs Clause came back and did one final scene. I breathed a huge sigh of relief because she decided not to leave Santa! He wrote her a beautiful note about how much he loved her and he also bought her an ice cream machine (she said in her previous scene that she missed their ice cream dates). I love happy endings and was glad this show had one! When the show came to a close and the cast took a bow I stood up and gave them a standing ovation. I remained standing as they sang “Spirit of Newfoundland” (a song written by Peter that they sing at the end of every show) Christmas Around The World 009 and I sang along with it as well since I know all the words. It’s such a beautiful song and I love hearing it at the end of each show. Then everyone else got up and we sang “Ode To Newfoundland”. It sounded quite pretty. Then we all sat back down and Keith took out this list that he had and gave shout outs to people in the audience. I was lucky enough to be on that list! He called out for the McDonald table and I raised my hand way up high in the air letting us be known. Peter spoke and said that I write excellent reviews of the show and I’m a huge supporter. It made me happy hearing those things. I mentioned that I was here celebrating my sweet 16 and they sang “Happy Birthday” to me! That made me feel awesome! They also acknowledged that Peter was in the audience and when they did that since I like him so much I gave him a little standing ovation! Then the show came to a close. I was a bit sad it was over because I really enjoyed it! I went over to Peter’s table again and spoke with him. I also got a picture with him, Sheila, Janet and her adorable Son Christmas Around The World 011 (Sheila is the one on the left, Peter is next to Sheila, I’m next to Peter, Janet is next to me, her Son is in her arms and Cuddles (his adorable Teddy Bear) is in her Sons arms). Then me and my Dad talked to Peter for a while and I got to give him a hug! I love Peter’s hugs so I was on cloud 9 when I got one! I then said my Goodbye’s to Peter. I also said Goodbye to Laura and Emma since they were leaving and I thanked them for helping me celebrate my Birthday. Then Dad and I went to get our coats. I mentioned that I had a Christmas card for Dana and wanted to give it to her so he said go ahead and he’d get our coats for us. I couldn’t find her so he told me to ask somebody. I did and she went out and brought back Dana and the rest of the cast as well. That was very nice of her. Michael was the first to come out and I told him about the cake. Dana walked in on this and was pretty amazed. Michael was as well. Dad told Dana and Keith that we’d seen them before in “Avenue Q”. Dana didn’t quite remember me but when I told her that I borrowed her pen sparks flew and she remembered who I was! I was happy she did. Keith remembered me borrowing her pen as well! Dana asked me if I sang and I told her that I did and I also played clarinet and piano. She was very impressed by that. I also told her that I act and that I was the only person in my drama class at school who got 100% on my monologue! She was amazed by this! She thought I was very talented. That made me happy! Then I got a picture with the cast Christmas Around The World 012(Sandra is the one on the left, Michael is next to her, I’m next to Michael, Dana is next to me and Keith is next to Dana.) After getting our picture I got to see Peter one final time since he was also in the Screech Room. I gave him the Christmas card that I had for Erin Windsor who is one of the cast members of the show but wasn’t in it tonight. I hope she gets it and really likes it! I’m sure she will though. After giving Peter her card we hugged again (which I loved) then me and Dad headed off. I had such an incredible time tonight! I couldn’t think of a better way to celebrate my 16th Birthday! Do you go out to dinner with your family on your Birthday? Do you have a different Birthday tradition in your family? Tell me in the comments!

4 thoughts on ““Christmas Around The World”

  1. Hi Leah!
    I’m glad you enjoyed the show, it’s too bad I wasn’t there to say hello, but I did get your Christmas card. It is gorgeous. Thank you so much.
    Keep up writing these awesome blogs, I really enjoy them. Perhaps a theatre critic career is in your future!
    See you soon I’m sure,
    xo
    Erin Winsor

    • Thank you so much for the lovely comment! I’m glad you liked your Christmas card. I hoped you would! I’m getting really excited to see you in “Les Misérables” in Febuary! Me and my friends have our tickets and we’re in the front row! I can’t wait to hear you sing. See you then!

      Leah

  2. Pingback: Skeets, Snobs and Peppermint Knobs | Aspie Diaries

  3. Pingback: Every Spirit Show I’ve seen | Aspie Diaries

Leave a Reply

