Best Buddies Semi Formal


Hey blog world! I just got home from a semi formal with Best Buddies. A semi formal is a fancy kind of get together. No jeans and t shirts or anything like that. You had to wear a dress or a nice blouse and dress pants. I was going to wear a dress but it’s cold out so I wore a really nice shirt and dress pants. The evening began with supper in The Pantry. The Pantry is a restaurant located inside the Elaine Dobbin Centre for Autism. I had never eaten there before so I was excited to try it. When I got inside I noticed that everyone’s names were written on an envelope and placed next to a seat at the tables. I found my name and sat down. I then opened my envelope and found that there were little Christmas cards inside! I thought that was such a cute idea! Then I looked at the two envelopes next to mine and was glad to find out that two of my bowling team mates were going to be seated next to me! When the food started coming we had a choice of soup or salad for an appetizer. I went with the salad. I’m not sure what kind of salad it was. Garden I think. I was given a plate of salad and a little gravy bowl (I think that’s what it was) with dressing inside it. I took a piece of spinach and dipped it in the dressing and didn’t like it so I didn’t pour any on the salad. I quite enjoyed the salad. I ate around the radishes and purple onions but everything else was good. Next was the main course. Again we had a choice. Roast beef, spinach puffs or stuffed chicken. I really like stuffed chicken so that’s what I went with. It came with parsnips, carrots, mashed potato and mashed turnip. I thought the chicken was delicious. I really liked the dressing inside it. The vegetables were pretty good. I found the carrots a bit peppery but they were good. I loved the potatoes. They were really creamy! I had never had parsnips before so I gave them a try. It was my first and last time eating them. I didn’t enjoy them. Nor did I enjoy the mashed turnip. I like turnip but not when it’s mashed up.  The last course was desert. It was a brownie with whipped cream and chocolate sauce. I thought it was delicious! I really enjoyed my meal at the Pantry and will definitely come back to eat there again someday. I give it a 3 out of 5. After the meal we went upstairs and had a dance. My friend from bowling H.M was the DJ. She played lots of great songs! I had a lot of fun dancing with everyone. There was also another room set up where people were playing guitar and such. I decided to go check it out. When I got inside I’m not sure who it was but someone mentioned that I sang and that intrigued one of the Peer Buddies (the Peer Buddies are the MUN (Memorial University of Newfoundland) students that we get paired with.) She asked me what I sang and I said “Country and Broadway”. She asked me to sing a Broadway song so I sang “Popular” from “Wicked” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e4EtbRJw14E. At the end of the song everyone clapped and asked for an encore! I felt great hearing all the applause and cheering for an encore! I decided to do “Seasons of Love” from “Rent” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wsj15wPpjLY. She was standing back on to me so I don’t know who she was but someone was singing along with me. She sounded great. They wanted to hear another song after that one so next I did “Little Girls” from “Annie” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cDkEXszYtdo. Next one of my friends played a song by Jewel on guitar and she sang as well. I thought she sounded really cool! Then I sang another song. I sang “King Herod’s Song” from “Jesus Christ Superstar” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z9ALiADrJro. Then one of the Peer Buddies played “Hey Jude” by the Beatles http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eDdI7GhZSQA on his guitar and we had a sing along! It was fun! After that we all decided to go back into the other room and dance. In the corner of the room there was a bag full of funny props we could wear and take pictures with our friends. I took pictures with lots of my friends and put on all sorts of funny outfits. Here are a few examples. 023, 015,019, 021. Later on when it came time for the final song of the night I was thrilled that it was “Ob La Di Ob La Da” by the Beatles http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HvGCwIQVEo4. It’s my favorite Beatles song and H.M said she had it on the playlist for me and I’d been waiting to hear it all night. I had an absolute blast dancing to it! I was absolutely popped from all the dancing when it was over! I had such a great time though! Have you ever been to a semi formal? Did you have fun? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

