Come Fly With Me


Hey blog world! Today’s daily post is called “Come Fly With Me”. It says to share a story about the furthest you’ve ever travelled from home. The furthest I’ve ever travelled from home was Koh Samui Thailand. I blogged about my trip so feel free to read those posts. I was in Koh Samui for my half Sisters wedding. It took 2 days to get there! I basically lived off of airplane and airport food for 4 days (the 2 getting there and the 2 getting home). I got quite used to it. So much so it took me a while to get used to the food back here at home! Some of the airplane cuisine was good but some weren’t. Especially the food on Bangkok airlines. It was mystery meat, a raisin bun, veggies and some kind of fruit. I barely touched that food. I didn’t mind the food on the United Airlines flights though. I remember having a burger and ice cream for lunch on the 12 hour flight from Narita Japan to Newark in New York. It was pretty good (even though I didn’t even notice the ketchup packet until after I ate LOL!) Speaking of the airplane food I had a very unpleasant first during this flight from Japan to New York.  Not once had I ever thrown up on an airplane. There is unfortunately a first time for everything. The cause was a mixture of a bumpy landing, too much airplane food and too many starburst candies (I ate starbursts during the landing because they’re chewy and chewing on them helps stop my ears from popping.) Throwing up on that airplane turned me off from starburst candy. I haven’t eaten another once since! I will never eat another one again! A lot of the flights I went on during my trip were long so I was very thankful for the TV’s on the planes. I watched a whole load of movies and TV programs. “Matilda”, “Diners Drive Ins and Dives”, “Rock Of Ages”, “Phineas and Ferb”, “Horrible Bosses”, “Dodgeball A True Underdog Story”, “Mary Poppins” (although I didn’t get to finish it), “Parental Guidance”, “Wayne’s World” (twice), “Hee Haw”, “The Andy Griffith Show” and I think (but am not sure) that’s it. I got to spend loads and loads of time in the airports as well waiting for my next flight. I think the longest I had to wait was 4 hours in Narita Japan for our flight to Newark. Then again maybe it was longer than that in the Bangkok airport since our first flight was over booked and we were paid to stay back and wait for the next one. I’m not sure. Either way I enjoyed being in these airports. I liked walking around and seeing them, sitting down and watching the TV’s and such. I also enjoyed eating at some of these airports. I had Breakfast in the San Francisco one at a nice little cafe they had there. I had a bagel with cream cheese. It tasted good! I also enjoyed what I ate in the Narita Japan airport. I got to taste their McDonald’s ice cream. It tastes different than the ice cream our McDonald’s has. Also I had a meal at another restaurant they had in there as well. I had fried rice. It was delicious! I got to eat in the Bangkok airport as well. Their grape juice tastes completely different than the stuff we have at home but it wasn’t too bad. Also some of the food was good but some of it wasn’t. I liked the popcorn they had and the chocolate danishes. Their DQ tastes pretty good too. I got to go to the duty free shop while I was in Japan to pass some time as we waited for our flight. I bought a really cute Hello Kitty figurine wearing a kimono. I keep her on my desk. I was so tired from all the flying and was glad to be back on the ground when I got home from my trip. I had fun though! What’s the farthest you’ve ever been from home? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

