Gord Bamford Live


Hey blog world! I just got home from seeing Gord Bamford live at the holy heart theatre! It was an awesome concert! I went with my Dad who also likes Gord Bamford. The first thing we did when we arrived at the holy heart was visit the merchandise table. I bought an orange T shirt that said “Country Junkie” on it and I also bought Gord’s CD “Is It Friday Yet”. I was hoping he’d sign it for me. The opening act for Gord was Damian Follett. I’d never heard of him before. I liked some of the songs he sang. After he played about 3 or 4 songs he left the stage and we waited on Gord. I was getting excited and hoped he’d be coming out really soon because I really wanted to see him! When he came out I was thrilled! He opened with “Day Job” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EUZZ1qA44Hg. I know all the words to that one so I sang along and danced in my seat. Then he sang “Postcard From Pasadena” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ef_oMjrHfsw. That song holds a special place in my heart because it was the very first Gord Bamford song I ever heard. It’s also my favorite one. I was really happy that he sang it! Another thing that made me happy was hearing about what he’d done for the Janeway. He told us that he raised $10,000 for them. I’m a huge advocate for the Janeway so I thought it was very sweet of him to raise all that money for the kids. Speaking of kids he sang the songs that he’d written about his kids tonight. When he sang “Little Guy” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S_wso8Zo7-A I cried. It’s such a beautiful song and even though I knew every word I found it hard to sing along because I was crying. Same with “My Daughter’s Father” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4fdeyEJ1s_k. I cried during that one too. As soon as it was over I don’t know if he heard me but I turned to my Dad and with tears still in my eyes said “I love you Dad!” He said nothing back because as I said he probably didn’t hear me but I know he loves me too. Gord also sang “Stayed Til’ Two” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hvo317zyBJM tonight. That’s such a fun song and I loved hearing it! The last part is my favorite “When I got home I was quiet as a mouse. Little did I know she had moved the couch. I hit the floor and the whole house knew I went for one but I stayed til 2.” LOL! He also sang “Put Some Alcohol On It” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4c4MIJFdiC4. That’s a song by Gord that me and Dad both really like. I was glad that he played that one for us! He did some new ones that I hadn’t heard before as well. He performed “Daughterville” (which is so brand new it’s not even on YouTube yet) for us and he said it was the first time he’d played it live! That made me feel special since I got to be there the very first time “Daughterville” was played. I really liked it! I also liked hearing “Hank Williams Lonesome” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3uPbelIoSJU for the first time as well. There are some songs that Gord sings that I was really looking forward to hearing tonight and was hoping that he’d play them and he did! I was so happy to hear “Drinkin’ Buddy” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZIUflU7jqGo and “Blame It On That Red Dress” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=E4Tii6FQVYA. Unfortunately I also really really wanted to hear “All About Her” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ojt7bBiuKgA because it’s such a pretty song but he didn’t sing it. I waited all night for it and was dissappointed that I didn’t get to hear it. Oh well! Hopefully if he comes back again he’ll play it. At the end of the show he said he’d be coming out and signing autographs so me and Dad went back to the merchandise table where we thought he’d be signing stuff. We waited there for I’m not even sure how long and Gord didn’t show. I was wondering where he was because he said he would be coming out. As we found out moments later Gord was in the auditorium down by the stage signing autographs. Me and Dad went back into the auditorium and there was a hoard of people crowded around Gord waiting to get a picture. I didn’t know how long of a wait I’d have or even if I’d get to meet him and I was getting really upset. Dad could tell I was getting upset and so he went over to one of the people that works for Gord and told him that I had Autism and was getting really upset and really wanted to meet Gord. He came over to me and lead me through the crowd and right straight to Gord! That was so nice of him! I got to talk to him, get my picture with him and he signed my CD. I’m so glad that I got to meet him! As I was leaving I saw one of my special olympics friends in a wheelchair who was waiting to meet him. We chatted for a bit and hugged. It was nice seeing her there. I had such a great time tonight and hope that Gord comes back again soon. Were you at the concert tonight? Did you like it? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

