“Les Miserables” 10th Anniversary


Hey blog world! Yesterday me, my Mom, my Niece and her friend went to the mall. I asked if we could stop into the HMV because there was something there I wanted to spend my allowance on. I went up to the front desk and asked if they had anything “Les Miserables” related. Either the movie or one of the live versions. There were 3! 2 live versions (the 10th anniversary Les Mis 10 and the 25th anniversary Les Mis 25) and the movie Les Miserables! I had such a difficult time deciding! The sales clerk was a huge help though. She guided me through the decision process and reccommended which one she thought was best. I went with the one she told me was best. The 10th anniversary concert at the Royal Albert Hall in London from 1995. I’m so glad I went with that one! I watched it last night (and finished it earlier this morning) and loved absolutely every minute! The entire cast had such incredible voices! The Thenardiers were as always my favorites. They’re so funny! When they sang “Master Of The House” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4tuYuTsNEWo I couldn’t stop laughing! Especially at my favorite part in the song when Thenardier sings “Everybody raise a glass” then Madame Thenardier screams “RAISE IT UP THE MASTERS ARSE!” LOL! I was also amazed by the woman who played Fantine. Her voice was beautiful! As was the voice of the man who played Jean Valjean. The 2 children in the show Gavroche and young Cosette did excellent. I thought young Cosette looked adorable and it was so cute when she sang “Castle On A Cloud” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=G9JX7VwRk08. The little boy who played Gavroche sounded very good as well. I liked it when he sang “Little People” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GGdJ9SocuUQ. It was too bad that he didn’t sing the whole song though. I did “Little People” in voice and there’s more to it than what he sings. At least he did a bit of it! I was captivated by “One Day More” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IQkrKhyGuBA. All those voices singing together made the song sound absolutely amazing! I also thought it was really cool when at the end they had 17 Jean Valjean actors from around the world sing “Do You Hear The People Sing” in their native languages http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KPpkTgMbhRU. I had no idea that “Les Miserables” was performed in that many countries! If your ever at a video store and see the 10th anniversary of “Les Miserables” BUY IT! You will not be dissappointed!

Leave a Reply

