30 Hour Famine


Hey blog world! Yesterday was so much fun! I spent the night at school for the 30 hour famine! Like I said in the post “Foodless Fundraiser” the 30 hour famine is a fundraiser for kids in Africa. We spend the night at school and for 30 hours we don’t eat! I had a nice big supper of fried chicken, buns, taters and salad before to try and fill myself up so I wouldn’t get hungry for a while. When I got to school I set all my things down in the Cafeteria where we’d be sleeping. Then I grabbed my karaoke machine and headed into the drama room to set it up and start using it! Once I got it set up it gained a lot of interest from the others. Lots of people were looking through my extensive collection of karaoke CD’s (I counted the other day and there are 19) and asking me if they could sing! It was fun listening to the others (especially my friends C and M’s duet of “Summer Nights” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ucU5c9ilIIc) and I also enjoyed singing! I sang “I’m Gonna Miss Her (The Fishin’ Song)” by Brad Paisley http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WwRrKaq0IyY (but since I’m a girl I changed it to “I’m Gonna Miss Him”) and I also did an epicly failed duet of “What Dreams Are Made Of” by Hillary Duff http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uen-A9Yw67Y with some chick who asked me to duet with her. I agreed because I thought we’d agree on a song that we both knew but instead she tossed the Hillary Duff CD over to her friend, asked her to pick our song and out of all the ones on the CD she went with the one that I didn’t know very well! At least I was able to laugh at myself! After doing karaoke for a while my friend K asked me if I wanted to play Kinect with her for a while (kinect is a new thing for the Xbox that lets your body be the controller) I’d never played Xbox (or Kinect) before but I thought it could be fun so I said yes. We first played “Dance Central 2” and I really enjoyed that! K let me do a solo dance first to get a feel of how the game is played. I danced to “Baby Got Back” by Sir Mix A Lot http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kY84MRnxVzo. It was fun! Then me and K played 2 player. We danced to “Numa Numa” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HR4hp_-kSI, “Bulletproof” by La Roux http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0HR4hp_-kSI and “Born This Way” by Lady Gaga http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wV1FrqwZyKw. I really enjoyed playing that! When we were done my hunger started to kick in. We’re allowed to have rice so I got the microwavable cup of rice that I’d brought with me, heated it up and ate it. It was yummy! When I returned to the drama room K was playing “Call Of Duty”. I’d never played that game before and I asked to try it. It was hard! I didn’t really like it very much. After playing “Call Of Duty” I asked if she wanted to play a board game. I told her there was “Monopoly” and she said she wanted to play that. It was the Canadian version! You could buy stuff like Niagara falls, the St Johns International Airport, the Rideaux Canal and lots of other things in Canada. We were at that for about an hour or 2 I think. I eventually got kinda bored so we packed up “Monopoly” and called K the winner because she had the most money. Then we played “The Logo Board Game”. I won! Then we played her Xbox for another little bit. We played “Kinect Sports”. We started off with tennis. I wasn’t very good at that! I found it very hard to hit the ball back! Then we played baseball. I was kinda good at that. I was great at pitching but not so much at batting or sliding LOL! At midnight I got super tired so I put on my PJ’s and went to bed. I don’t know what time it was when this happened but some random person (I’m not sure who it was) came into the cafeteria and started playing the accordion! That woke me up! It was incredibly random! So much so that just to make sure I wasn’t crazy I asked my friend A if that really just happened. Yes it did and I wasn’t crazy or dreaming. Who in the right mind would do that I wonder? Also while I was asleep my friends C.P and T were awake playing “Legend Of Zelda” on the TV right in front of where I was sleeping. I didn’t quite mind that. I fell right asleep listening to it somehow! We had to get up really early this morning because we had to be gone at 7:00! I got up at 6:00. C.P had to throw a pillow at me to wake me up LOL! I really didn’t wanna get out of bed. Once I got everything packed up and got home I went right to my bedroom and slept! Even though I’m home I still have a long ways to go before my famine is over! All day today I can’t eat! Dad says I can tomorrow morning so I’m gonna be super happy when Breakfast is ready tomorrow! Have you ever spent a night at your school? Did you enjoy it? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

