20 Facts About Me


Hey blog world! Soul Pancake is such an awesome YouTube channel! One of my favorite series of videos that Soul Pancake makes is called “Live A Little”. It’s about a girl named Candace who does some pretty awesome stuff! This video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXctcWF7RNs&list=SPCBF7BEFF6FECA57B&index=2 is one of my favorites! She calls it “50 Facts About Me” but yet only gives us 20 facts. I thought that I’d do it too! I was gonna give 50 facts but I can’t think of 50 so I’ll do what she did and tell you 20 things about me!

#1 I’m Autistic: I’ve already talked about it here on my blog but I’ll do it again! At age 8 I was diagnosed with high functioning Aspergers which is a form of Autism. Because of my Ausitm my brain works differently than others and I have a bit more difficulty learning things.

#2 I took dance classes: I was in tap and jazz for a few years (I think it was 2. I can’t remember) and I took ballet for about 2 1/2 minutes. I wanted to try it out so the teacher let me come into the ballet class she was teaching for a bit and try and do ballet. It didn’t go well. I didn’t like it and found it too hard on my feet!

#3 I sang live on the radio: When I was in grade 6 I was invited to do an interview on Coast 101.1 for their radio miracle. It was a radiothon for the Janeway janeway logo: I talked about my Autism and I even got to sing! I sang “Part Of Your World” from “The Little Mermaid”

#4 I can sew (kind of): In home ec class last year I learned how to sew. I learned a few different stitches and I made a stuffed lobster and a felt head! My next big sewing project is going to be placemats! My Aunt and I are gonna make them for my Sisters wedding in Thailand!

#5 I have asthma: I’ve had it for a year. It can be kind of annoying at times!

#6 My friends nickname for me is Leela: My friend from bowling calls me Leela. He can’t say Leah so he calls me that instead! I like it!

#7 I collect pins: I’ve got a treasure box full of them! I think they’re cool!

#8 I love old music and TV shows: I like some recent TV shows and songs but I much prefer older stuff. I like music from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s and the same with TV shows. I like watching stuff like “M.A.S.H” “Super Dave Osbourne”, “Match Game” and “The Andy Griffith Show”.

#9 I’ve broken my arm: When I was really young (I think maybe 5) I broke it :(.

#10 I took a university course last year: Mom found a course for kids 12 and up that was being held at M.U.N (Memorial University of Newfoundland) and signed me up for it. It was called home alone with confidence. I forget his name but a cop from the RNC (Royal Newfoundland Constabulary) taught the course. The first thing we did was eat pizza! Then we saw a slideshow about what and what not to do when your home alone and we took notes. I had fun and I really enjoyed it!

#11 I don’t like wearing makeup: I prefer my natural beauty! The only times I wear makeup are when I’m going to be on TV or in a stage production (because you’ve got to wear makeup) and sometimes Mom puts lipstick on me when we’re going out somewhere fancy.

#12 I like reading autobiographies: I like reading these kinds of books because I like learning about the people they’re about and I find them very interesting. My favorite one that I’ve read is “All By Myselves, Walter, Peanut, Achmed and Me” by Jeff Dunham!

#13 I go to Social Thinking group every week: It’s an all girl group at the Elaine Dobbin center. We learn how to make friends, how to be socially appropriate and lots of other stuff. We also get to have hangout time where we play board games together!

#14 I can do magic: I have a magic kit at home and I’ve learned lots of really cool tricks. My favorite magic trick is turning credit cards into paper bills!

#15 I like making movies: I’ve made 2 with my Boyfriend and hope to make more! It’s fun!

#16 I had pets: I say had because most of them are dead. I had a cat named Spook who died when I was 10 (I think), a dog named Bear who died when I was 8, a whole whack of fish named after characters on “Fairly OddParents” who have all died and the only pet I have left is a cannibalistic catfish who I have named Cannibal because he ate all the other fish!

#17 I love wearing dresses: When I have to dress up to go out somewhere I will always put on a dress. I have so many of them in my closet and think they all look great on me!

#18 I travel a lot: I’ve been to a lot of different places! Some of my favorite places that I’ve visited were NYC, Florida, Gross Mourne and Québec.

#19 I’m a clarinnettist: I’ve been playing since I was in grade 6. I find it hard playing the high notes and I squeak sometimes but with a lot more practice I’m sure I’ll get a lot better.

#20 I bowl: I’ve been bowling with Special Olympics SO Can for 4 years and I have so much fun! I’m really good at it too! I’ve got 3 bronze medals and 1 gold!

What’s something cool about yourself? Tell me in the comments!

2 thoughts on “20 Facts About Me

Leave a Reply

