“Rock Of Ages” Movie Review


Hey blog world! Last night Mom and I had  a girls night. We watched “Rock Of Ages” together! “Rock Of Ages” is a movie adaptation of the broadway musical. I saw it while I was in New York and thought it was amazing! The movie was amazing as well! In fact it was “Nothin’ But A Good Time”! It followed 2 young people (who I’d say were maybe in their twenties) named Dan and Sherry. Dan and his band Wolfgang Von Colt played gigs at the local bar (I forget what it was called) and Sherry moved to LA from Oklahoma to become a singer. I forget the names of the 2 guys who owned the bar that Dan and his band played at but I know that the actors who played them were Russel Brand (“Get Him To The Greek”, “Bedtime Stories”) and Alec Baldwin (“30 Rock”, “The Cat In The Hat”.) I had no idea they were such good singers! They did a duet of “Can’t Fight This Feeling” by REO Speedwagon http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zpOULjyy-n8 and Mom said that it completely ruined the song but I loved it! I thought they were great! Also Tom Cruise was in this movie. He played rock star Stacey Jaxx. While doing an interview for a magazine he sang “Wanted Dead Or Alive” by Bon Jovi http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7VD3pBTK0oA to the reporter and I thought he was also great! All the singing in the movie was! I thought it was so cute when at the beginning of the movie when everyone was singing “Sister Christian” by Night Ranger http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=z92bmlcmyq0 to Sherry while she was on the bus a little girl turned around in her seat and sang the line “You’ll be alright tonight”! It was the most adorable scene in the movie! One thing I noticed about the songs used in the film was that there were some that were in the musical on broadway and  not in the movie. For example on broadway Dan sang “Oh Sherry” by Steve Perry http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1oN80al-7BI after Sherry dumped him when he accused her of having an afair with Stacey. They didn’t use the song in the movie. Also “The Final Countdown” by Europe http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9jK-NcRmVcw was in the musical but they didn’t use it in the film either.  I wonder why not? Out of all of them my favorite song in the movie was definately the medley of “We Built This City” by Jefferson Starship and “We’re Not Gonna Take It” by Twisted Sister http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ALrlB88mvi0. I felt bad for the poor news reporter who had to run back and forth to get what everyone had to say but even though I felt bad I laughed! In the movie not only were there humans. There was also an animal! Stacey Jaxx owned a pet monkey he named Hey Man. Hey Man was kinda Stacey’s personal buttler because Stacey would always be asking him to get him scotch. He’s a very termpremental monkey. He throws things (mainly Stacey’s empties) at people! Don’t get on Hey Man’s bad side! Have you seen this movie or the musical? If so tell me your favorite part in the comments! Keep on rocking blog world!

 

Leah

One thought on ““Rock Of Ages” Movie Review

Leave a Reply

