Social Thinking Party


Hey blog world! I’m in the social thinking group at the Elaine Dobbin Center in St John’s. Last night we had a halloween party at the Brother Rice Jr High gym. It was so much fun! On the invitation it said costumes were required so I dressed up as Elle Woods. When I got there I was thrilled because I saw 2 of my best friends from Kidclub (for more info on Kidclub read the post of the same name) that I hadn’t seen in ages! I was so happy to be reunited with them! They were really happy to see me again as well! One of them named K was a vampire and the other girl named E was a hippy! They looked amazing! At the party they had one of those mall photo booths where you go in and get your picture taken. There was even a prop table outside of it so you could put on a hat, mask boa or whatever else they had there. The one really great thing about the photo booth was that you didn’t have to pay! Me and E and K got our pictures taken together and we looked great! Also at the party there was lots of yummy food! Brownies, cupcakes, candy and all kinds of other delicious stuff! The drinks all had spooky Halloweeny names. For example the root beer was warm blood, the pepsi was poison! It was a little freaky but kinda cool! There was music being played and me and E and K danced together all night! The DJ played lots of awesome songs like “Gangnam Style” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9bZkp7q19f0, “Ghostbusters” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lAfOuhsJJsQ&feature=fvst and “Sexy And I Know It” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gVYZJAgLUYA. I asked him to play “Spanish Train” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DnaUvPoiTfQ by Chris De Burgh because it’s one of my favorite Halloween songs (it’s about the Lord and Devil playing Poker to win the souls of the dead) and it took the DJ 2 tries but he found it! I also asked for “Lady In Red” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iFcuN2zI3u0 and E slow danced to it with me! I could tell she was really enjoying herself because she was laughing and smiling the whole time! I really enjoyed it as well! She was a great slow dancer! At 7:45 the dance was over and as kids left more kids came! I wondered what was going on. The party was over yet more people were coming. I thought they were extremely late but according to one of the Social Thinking group leaders who organized the party it was now time for the older kids to have their party. I asked her if I could stay and she said yes! I was so happy I’d get to keep dancing! At this party I saw lots of people I hadn’t seen in a long time! I saw 3 people I went to camp with 2 summers ago at the Elaine Dobbin center (one was a pirate, one was a penguin and one was a clown), a guy I know from Special Olympics bowling (he was Mario), one of the employees of the Autism center that I hadn’t seen since last summer (he was a construction worker) and a girl I played Headbanz with at my first social thinking meeting (she was an arabian princess.) It was great seeing all these people again! N (the Arabian Princess) and CJ (the clown) and I danced together the whole time! In fact N was very flattering because she copied my dance moves! I felt awesome knowing someone liked the way I danced and wanted to dance like me! She said it was hard copying them but at least she tried! During this dance they played the Mario theme song http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MiAxiGZKpGQ (because someone had asked him to play it for the guy dressed as Mario), the Monster Mash http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AxcM3nCsglA (I did the Mashed Potato instead of the Monster Mash LOL), and he didn’t have the whole thing but he played a bit of “Peanut Butter Jelly Time” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LtWIxaVV-MY&feature=fvst. I asked him to play that song. I got the idea from my friend who was dressed as a banana! I also asked the DJ to play “Patricia The Stripper” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ABwDWwYX0Q4 and he did and that made me so happy! N thought the song was really funny! She and I both had a great time dancing to it! I was kinda sad to go home when the party was over but I had a great time, got to see some old friends and make a lot of awesome memories! What was your favorite costume you’ve worn to a Halloween party? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

