St John’s Comedy Fest 2012


Hey blog world! Last night my Dad and I attended the St John’s Comedy Fest for the 2nd year in a row! Like last year we attended the final performance of the festival the CBC gala (which will be broadcast on CBC)! It was so much fun! This years gala was held at the Delta hotel. It was a really nice place! Dad and I were super lucky again this year since we got front row seats once again! How lucky is that? The 1st comic that performed for us was Mike Bullard. He wasn’t there last year so it was my 1st time seeing him perform! He was the only comic of the night with no material! His entire act was talking to and making jokes about the audience! During his act he said that the guy sitting 2 seats to my right should be a model and when he asked him what his name was he said Ryan and when he asked his occupation he said weatherman! I didn’t recognise him at 1st but then I realized I was sitting close to Ryan Snoddon the weatherman from CBC! That was really cool! Another person that performed last night that wasn’t there last year was Gavin Crawford. He’s a cast member of “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”! He wasn’t exactly himself during this performance. What I mean by that is he did most of his performance in character! He 1st put on a black wig and a cape and took on the role of Snape (from the Harry Potter books) and showed us what it would be like inside of a wizard Yuk Yuks (that’s the name of a comedy club)! Then he put on a pair of glasses and pretended to be a Sweedish book publisher trying to proove to us that all Sweedish novels aren’t crime fiction books like “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”. There was also another cast member of “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”. Mary Walsh! I was hoping she’d come out dressed as Marg Delahunty  (a warrior princess who was one of Mary’s many recurring characters on “This Hour Has 22 Minutes”) but she was herself. At least she was really funny too! She did drop the F bomb a few times but other than that I thought her material was pretty funny! There was even a sketch comedy group that performed for us. Snook (who once again hosted the gala) said it was a rare reunion so they must have stopped doing shows but decided to do a few skits just for us! Their name was Dance Party Newfoundland. Their 1st sketch was about a guy named Bayroni (who would always say “D’as all” after saying his name). He was pretty much Newfoundland’s male Blanche Deveraux  (if you know what I mean). As a result of that he had several kids in several different countries! I can’t remember much else about Bayroni (d’as all) but at the end he got a girl to agree with going for a ride with him in his car. She asked where they were going and he said “Heaven”. Unfortunately for Bayroni he’s the only one that went to heaven. You see as they were driving he hit a guard rail  and the woman (who never mentioned her name for some reason) survived the crash but Bayroni however did not. Then the girl, one of Bayroni’s many sons and some other dude (I forget who he was) said how they remembered the night he died and that he’ll be missed and they all learned something from him. Then his son spoke up and said “In the end he was Bayroni” and then in unison they all said (feel free to say it as you read it) “D’as all”! Despite the crash I thought it was a pretty funny sketch! One of the members of Dance Party Newfoundland came out by himself and did some stand up his name was Johnny Harris. He got his act off to a weird start. This is literally how he opened. “Hands up irritable bowel syndrome!” I found that disturbing and quite awkward! IBS is what his entire act was based upon. How and when he was diagnosed and some of the treatments he received. I thought his act was a little disturbing but it was funny! Also another newbie was Paul Warford. I can’t remember much of his material. There were a few people from last year that returned to the fest. John Sheehan was one of them. I thought he was great! I loved his Newfoundland storage wars joke! I won’t tell it because they may air it on TV so you’ll probably hear it there. Trent McKlellan was back this year too. I must admit I found him funnier than last year. In fact the whole show was funnier than last years! The final performer of the night was Nikki Payne! She began by asking the kids in the audience to clap. I did and she heard and asked me what my name was and how old. After I told her that she said there were things that I needed to know. One of which was that I should stay at home for as long as I can! I also remember that in the middle of her act I took a sip of my cranberry juice and she said Drink up Leah”! Also she did a joke about her water softener and I piped up and said that I don’t even know what it is and she said “Neither do I and I own one!” I thought that was really funny! After the show I got to meet some of the comics because they came out to the lobby of the hotel to say hi to people and sign autographs and get pictures! I was super lucky because when I was talking to Mike Bullard he gave me a kiss on the cheek! That was a total cloud 9 moment for me. Although Chris De Burgh’s hug is definately #1 on my best cloud 9 moment list! Mike’s kiss is #2 (if your reading this Mike no offense!) John Sheehan gave me a bit of a workout because he was halfway down the hallway and I wanted to get his autograph and get a picture so I had to run after him LOL! After his picture he said “You probably wanna get this guy before he leaves” and as soon as I turn around there’s Gavin Crawford on his way out the door! I thankfully managed to stop him and grab a picture. Too bad he didn’t have his Snape costume with him! It would have been so cool to get a picture with him wearing the Snape wig and cape! I am so excited for the gala to air on TV because I may be shown on air! I don’t know when it’s gonna air but I’ll let you know so you can all watch! Were you at the fest last night? Tell me your favorite part about it in the coments!

Leah

One thought on “St John’s Comedy Fest 2012

  1. Hey it was Cathy Jones from CODCO at the CBC gala, not Mary Walsh! I can’t say who I loved the best. I love Nikki Payne, and Bayroni just killed me! His “d’as all” was awesome!

Leave a Reply

