Book reccommendations


Hey blog world! I figured that I’d use this post to reccommend some books that I think you all should read!

“Meet Molly” by Valerie Tripp . This is a book about a 9 year old girl named Molly McIntire who’s growing up on the home front in the middle of the 2nd world war. Her father’s gone away to help wounded soldiers so the only McIntires left at home are Molly, her Mom, her older sister Jill, her younger brother Brad and her older brother Ricky who she’s not getting along with. The 2 of them are constantly fighting so much so that they practically start their own war at home! This book also comes with a “looking back” essay in the back of the book that talks about what life was like during Molly’s time. I recently got the book finished and I loved it so much that I really want to read the 2nd one (there are 6)! This is a great book for a class to read together or for you to read on your own.

“Captain Underpants And The Wrath Of The Wicked Wedgie Woman” by Dav Pilkey . This is as you can tell by the cover the 5th book in the Captain Underpants series.  I haven’t read all the books but out of the ones that I’ve read I’ve gotta say that this one was my favorite! It’s so funny! Sure there are some grammar mistakes (probably part of the humor) but it was a really enjoyable book! This book even has flip o rama wich makes it even cooler! Flip o rama is basically a way of making the pictures in one of the chapters of the book move! You put your fingers in the dotted lines and rapidly turn the page and it makes it look like the image is moving! How cool is that?

“Chrissa” by Mary Casanova . I finished reading this book a couple of days ago and I loved every minute of reading it! It’s an awesome book! There’s humor, suspense and some very touching moments too! It’s even got llamas! This is the story of Chrissa Maxwell (who’s also an American Girl) who moves to Iowa with her family and starts going to a new school where she gets bullied a lot! Her valentines get stolen and she even gets blamed for cutting off another girls bangs! I love this book because it shows bullying from the victim’s point of view and it also shows some ways to stand up to the bullies! Also if you like this book then I strongly reccommend watching her movie “An American Girl Chrissa Stands Strong”!

“Annie” (I don’t know who wrote this) . As you can tell by the cover this is a storybook version of the musical “Annie” complete with pictures from the movie and short character bio’s on the front page! This is a great way for people who don’t own the movie and can’t get out to see the musical to enjoy Annie’s incredible story! I’ve seen the movie millions of times but I still LOVE reading this book!

“Alice In Wonderland” by Lewis Carrol . This book was 1 of the books already downloaded onto my eReader when I bought it. I read it and I really enjoyed it even though there weren’t any illustrations. There were some very big words that I had to look up in a dictionary but other then that I thought it was a terriffic book (although I still prefer the movie).

“The Care And Keeping Of You” (I’m not sure who wrote this) . It’s yet another American Girl book. This time it’s not about one of their girls of the year or historical characters. This is a book just for girls about their bodies and what happens as they get older. Also it offers some great teeth and hair hygene tips (it even shows you how to properly get gum out of your hair)! I think it’s a great resource for tweenage girls who are getting curious about themselves. It sure answered a lot of my questions! Well blog world those are all the books that I strongly reccommend you read! You can find these books at your local bookstore and also you can find “Chrissa”, “Meet Molly” and “The Care And Keeping Of You” at American Girl stores and at the American Girl website www.americangirl.com. What are some books you reccommend others read? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

