story songs


Hey blog world! There are lots of songs out there that have a story to tell. I like story songs because the stories are always so incredible! These are some of my favorite story songs!

“BJ The DJ” by Stonewall Jackson http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MxFOOE8EoUU. This story song is about a 24 year old radio DJ named BJ. He still lives with his mom,stays out super late at record hops and drives too fast. You can probably already imagine what happens at the end of the song. I like this song because for 1 thing it teaches an important lesson of not driving too fast and also the beat is very catchy.

“Sink The Bismarck” by Johnny Horton http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YoHb1cBTeIk&feature=fvst. This is a historical story song. It’s about American soldiers sinking the German battleship called the Bismarck. I’m not sure when this event actually happened all that I know is that it did. I like this song because once again the beat is catchy and also I learn a little about American history when I hear this song.

“Ravishing Ruby” by Tom T Hall http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CIfKrkvxR9Q. This is the story about a girl named Ruby who sleeps in a bunk out back (I’m not quite sure what he means by that),pours coffee for a living and is awaiting the return of her father Smilin’ Jack.

“Coat Of Many Colors” by Dolly Parton http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kZlgDQbvo9I. This is the story of the rag coat that Dolly’s mother sewed for her when she was younger. It was made from nothing but rags because Dolly’s mom couldn’t afford a real coat but Dolly loved it anyway. She got teased in school because of it but she ignored the teasing and told the kids “One is only poor only if they choose to be” which I think is such an amazing thing to say.

What’s your favorite story song blog world? Tell me in the comments!

Leave a Reply

